New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Pole for Vettel in Singapore

2013-09-21 17:12

FIGHTING BULL: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel stormed to pole position in qualifying ahead of the 2013 Singapore GP. Image: AFP

SINGAPORE - Sebastian Vettel continued his imperious march towards a fourth consecutive Formula 1 World championship by storming to pole position at the Singapore Grand Prix on Saturday after dominating the two days of practice.

The Red Bull driver, who is 53 points ahead of Ferrari's Fernando Alonso with seven races remaining, clocked a fastest lap of 1min42.841 seconds around the floodlit Marina Bay Street Circuit.


The German will be joined on the front row by compatriot Nico Rosberg for Mercedes, who was just 0.091 seconds behind.

The second row for F1's only night race will be occupied by Lotus's Romain Grosjean and Vettel's Australian team mate Mark Webber.

Lewis Hamilton will start in fifth place while Alonso languished in seventh, outqualified by Brazilian team mate Felipe Massa.

Qualifying from the F1 Singapore Grand Prix at Marina Bay Street Circuit
1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1:42.841
2. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:42.932
3. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 1:43.058
4. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault 1:43.152
5. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:43.254
6. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1:43.890
7. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1:43.938
8. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1:44.282
9. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:44.439
10. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari
11. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1:44.555
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1:44.588
13. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 1:44.658
14. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 1:44.752
15. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1:45.185
16. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams - Renault 1:45.388
17. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 1:46.121
18. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Renault 1:46.619
19. Charles Pic (France) Caterham - Renault 1:48.111
20. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham - Renault 1:48.320
21. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia - Cosworth 1:48.830
22. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - Cosworth 1:48.930

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2013 Singapore GP weekend.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.