Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

WCape kart championship: Round 4 results

2014-06-09 13:12

CAPE KART BATTLE: Kohen (477) and Henry Bam in action at the 2014 regional kart champioship at Kilarney race circuit . Image: Heinrich Sauer

The 2014 Cape Karting championship reached its mid-way mark at the Killarney race circuit on  Saturday (June 7), with Kohen Bam, Luke Herring and JP Hamman among the drivers turning in stellar performances.
Bam took the overall victory in the high-school Junior Max 125cc Class where three drivers shared a heat win each. Henry Bam won the opening race but his brother Kohen beat him in race two.

The open Max Challenge 125cc races saw Luke Herring charge to three races on the trot including a thriller in race 1 and nine wins in a row to take control at the top of the championship.


Julian van der Watt scraped home second with Kohen Bam an impressive third to add to his Junior win. Jurie Swart, Jonathan Aberdein and Joshua Dolinschek rounded off the top six while Herring took a 30-point championship advantage over van der Watt and Swart.
JP Hamman extended his primary school Maxterino championship advantage with another trio of race wins over Aidan Strydom, Charl Visser and Jason Coetzee who shared second on Saturday. Joseph Oelz and Storm Lanfear fifth and sixth, leaving Hamman with a 25-point title advantage over Visser, Strydom, Coetzee, Tate Bishop, and Kai Van Zyl.
DD2 Gearbox championship leader Jonathan Thomas had not won a kart race until Saturday, when a broken throttle cable robbed him of that elusive honour two laps from the finish, leaving Stephen Wells to take his first win from Luke Van Rensburg.

Thomas made no mistake to win races two and three and consolidate his title advantage. Johan Hamman took all three Masters wins from  Vic Hodoul and Lourens Van Rensburg while consistent Jacques de Bryun leads the Masters championship from Houdoul.
Troy Dolinschek remains unbeatable in the under-8 Cadets with 12 wins from 12 starts in 2014. Kyle Visser, Jason MacBeath, Joaquin De Oliveira, Valentino Hoffman and Paul Malcolm trail as Dolinschek holds a healthy series lead over MacBeath, Visser, Malcolm, Hoffman, de Oliveira and Julius Schweiger.
Class B winner Mark Manson won Clubmans overall from James Fraser, championship leader Dale Fourie and Mike Cook.
The Cape Karting Championship takes a break until July 19 2014.
Read more on:    cape town  |  south africa  |  racing  |  motorsports

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.