New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

2016 Spanish GP: Ferrari sets the pace in 1st practice

2016-05-13 12:31

FERRARI 1-2: Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel (pictured) and Kimi Raikkonen finished Free Practice 1 in positions 1 and 2. Image: AP / Manu Fernandez

Circuit de Catalunya, Spain - Ferrari could pose a real challenge to Mercedes this weekend with a great display during the first practice session ahead of Spanish GP. 

Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel set the fastest time lap of 1min23:951, followed by team mate Kimi Raikkonen, 0.138sec behind.

The Mercedes-duo of Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton finished in third and fourth respectively - 0.5sec behind Vettel.

Taking on Mercedes

It was an encouraging start for Ferrari as it tries to end Mercedes' streak of four straight wins for Rosberg to start the season. Daniel Ricciardo finished in fifth place for Red Bull; almost a second behind Hamilton.

Max Verstappen, who replaced Daniil Kvyat at Red Bull, was sixth-fastest, behind team mate Daniel Ricciardo. Kvyat finished 12th in his return to Toro Rosso, Red Bull's feeder team.

LIVE: Spanish GP

2016 Spanish Grand Prix 

Free Practice times:

1 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1min23:951 
2 Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1min24:089 
3 Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes-AMG 1min24:454 
4 Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes-AMG 1min24:611 
5 Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull 1min25:416 
6 Max Verstappen (NED) Red Bull 1min25:585 
7 Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams 1min25:672 
8 Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso 1min26:078 
9 Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams 1min26:186 
10 Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren-Honda 1min26:243 
11 Kevin Magnussen (DEN) Renault 1min26:576 
12 Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Toro Rosso 1min26:583 
13 Nico Hlkenberg (GER) Force India 1min26:938
14 Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India 1min27:064 
15 Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber 1min27:253 
16. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Haas 1min27:258 
17 Esteban Gutierrez (MEX) Haas 1min27:283 
18 Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber 1min27:392 
19 Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren-Honda 1:27:610
20 Pascal Wehrlein (GER) Manor 1min28:084 
21 Rio Haryanto (INA) Manor 1min29:052 
22 Estban Ocon (FRA) Renault


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.