New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

4x4 men get Spirit award

2005-10-25 08:42

Winners Lourens du Plessis and Dirk Lombard with Sascha Gaede, Divisional Manager, Mitsubishi Motors Division of DCSA and legendary Motorsport Icon, Sarel van der Merwe.

"I am extremely impressed by the quality of the competitors all round and the finalists have an experience to be really proud of," said legendary motor sportsman Sarel van der merwe, organiser of the event.

"The semi-finals and the scoring worked well and this was evident by the cream of the crop that made the finals to compete in the desert.

"There were dunes and obstacles that even I knew required great concentration, skill and courage, yet were tackled and beaten by the contestants," he added.

Superb skills

"This proved to me that man and machine can conquer more than one anticipates. Their driving skills were truly superb."

The vehicles performed faultlessly with only two mechanical failures - one caused by over-enthusiasm on the part of one of the teams.

At a festive prize-giving ceremony held at the DaimlerChrysler offices in Pretoria, the following winners were announced:

1. Team 10 - Lourens du Plessis and Dirk Lombard form Polokwane

2. Team 5 - Wiela Botha and Hanlie Botha from Thabazimbi.

3. Team 4 - Piet Louw and Daan Jacobs from Hopetown.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.