New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Motor racing-Formula One statistics for Hungarian Grand Prix

2008-07-30 15:46

July 30 - Some Formula One statistics ahead of Sunday's Hungarian Grand Prix:

- - - -


Lewis Hamilton's second successive victory sent him four points clear of Ferrari's Felipe Massa at the top of the standings.

The last McLaren driver to win three races in a row was Finland's Mika Hakkinen in 1997/1998 (Europe 1997, Australia and Brazil 1998).

Four drivers have led the title race this year; Hamilton, Brazil's Massa, Finland's Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari) and Poland's Robert Kubica (BMW-Sauber).

The last time that happened was in 1987, when Britain's Nigel Mansell, France's Alain Prost, Brazilians Nelson Piquet and Ayrton Senna battled for the title.



Ferrari have won 206 races, McLaren 160 and Williams 113 in the all-time list.

Ferrari have won five of the season's 10 races (Massa three and Raikkonen two), Hamilton has four victories with Kubica the other winner.

Hockenheim was Hamilton's eighth career win. The last British driver to win four times in a season (apart from Hamilton's four in 2007) was Eddie Irvine for Ferrari in 1999.



Nelson Piquet's second place for Renault at Hockenheim was that team's first podium finish of the year.

Eight of the 10 teams have now appeared on the podium in 2008 (Ferrari, BMW-Sauber, McLaren, Toyota, Honda, Renault, Williams, Red Bull).


Force India's Giancarlo Fisichella and Adrian Sutil are the only drivers yet to score a point this season (not including Takuma Sato and Anthony Davidson from now-defunct Super Aguri).



Five different drivers have started on pole position so far this season (Massa, Raikkonen, Hamilton, Heikki Kovalainen, Kubica).

Spain's double world champion Alonso at Renault is the only driver to have outqualified his team mate (Nelson Piquet) in every race so far this year.



McLaren have won four of the last 10 Hungarian Grands Prix. They have also started on pole four times and posted four fastest laps.

Ferrari have also won four of the last 10 races there, but none since 2004.

Despite the circuit's reputation as a difficult one to overtake on, only six of the last 10 races have been won from pole position.

Only three times since 1998 has the winner in Budapest gone on to become champion (1999 Mika Hakkinen for McLaren, 2001 and 2004 Michael Schumacher for Ferrari).

Renault's Fernando Alonso took his first Formula One victory at the Hungaroring in 2003, becoming the sport's youngest race winner at the age of 22 years and 26 days.

Kubica made his F1 race debut in Hungary in 2006.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.