WATCH: Celebrating the iconic GTR

Wheels24 contributor Ferdi De Vos takes a look at the history of the Nissan Skyline GT-R, Japan's most iconic performance car.

First Lamborghini Aventador SVJ now in SA

The first Lamborghini Aventador SVJ has just been shipped into SA for a cool R9 695 000 and it's absolutely breathtaking.

2015 Spirit of Africa: Winners announced

2015-08-26 11:06

TOP SPOT: SA motorsport legend Sarel Van-der Merwe (centre) with the winners of the 2015 Spirit of Africa trophy winners Alwyn Jordaan (right) and Melanie Barnard. Image: Supplied


Watch the as toughest 4x4 drivers participate in the 2015 Spirit of Africa finals.

Alwyn Jordaan and Melanie Barnard are the 2015 Spirit of Africa Trophy champions. The pair, who finished in the third position in 2014, successfully mastered five days of demanding 4x4 driving challenges at the Kwalata Game Reserve in Botswana.

Alwyn and Melanie took home R50 000 prize money for their achievement.

The top 20 teams that participated in the 2015 finals emerged from nearly 500 teams that competed in the elimination rounds that were held in Zeerust from April to June 2015.


The finals were a tense affair with teams competing against each other in 30-technical stages which not only demanded precise driving skills but also total concentration.

The 2015 finals had an added incentive for all the participants as each team was also competing for the top five spots to represent their country in the inaugural Spirit of Amarok International 4x4 driving competition in Botswana next month.

VIDEO: 2015 Spirit of Africa finals

The top five teams from the Spirit of Africa competition will represent South Africa and compete against five teams from each of the other participating countries - Australia, Botswana and Namibia.

Volkswagen has sponsored the Spirit of Africa competition since the local launch of Amarok in 2009. Each year, 23 Amarok double cabs are employed for the competition and in 2015, R100 000 was up for grabs for the top three teams.

The top three was completed by the team of Piet and Benjamin Kotze who finished in the second position and received R30 000. The third position went to team of Theuns Otto and Evert Agenbag who took home R20 000.

Read more on:    south africa  |  racing  |  4x4  |  off-road

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.