WATCH: Sparks fly in thrilling King of the Hill

A new King of the Hill was crowned and saw the reign of two others extended today with a thrilling finale at #JaguarSHC.

8 fast cats score trophies at #JaguarSHC

The 10th Jaguar Simola Hillclimb was a successful affair for Team Jaguar, with a total of eight podium finishes for all eight entries across various categories.

Here's how your car could be much safer with the ‘Safer Choice Africa’ award which encourages safety

2018-05-02 14:11

Global NCAP is launching its ‘Safer Choice Africa’ Award to encourage automakers to achieve the highest levels of safety performance. 

In November 2017, the first ever independent crash test results for cars sold in Africa were released by Global NCAP at a conference in Cape Town.

The crashworthiness results of the five cars tested showed a wide range of safety performance, from four to zero stars for adult protection, with the lowest ratings resulting in a high probability of life threatening injury in a road crash.

5 popular SA cars crash tested - Polo Vivo, Etios and more

Improve tech, standard safety equipment... What should automakers do to reduce road fatalities in South Africa? Email us

To encourage manufacturers to quickly improve the safety levels of cars sold in the region, Global NCAP is now looking to bestow the prestigious accolade of Africa’s "first five star car" through the ‘Safer Choice Africa’ Award.

Award requirements

To qualify for a Global NCAP ‘Safer Choice’ Award in Africa and India, a car model must achieve all of the following requirements: 

1. The model must achieve a 5-star score for Adult Occupant Protection in accordance with the latest version of the Global NCAP New Market Test protocol.

2. The model must achieve at least a 4-star result in Child Occupant Protection in accordance with latest version of the Global NCAP New Market Test protocol. 

3. The model must offer Electronic Stability Control (ESC) and meet performance requirements according to United Nations Regulations UN13H, UN140 or GTR9. Where optional, ESC must be available on all the model variants, sold separately without any ‘bundling’ with other features, and as from two years onwards must be a standard fit to at least 20% of the sales volume in the country. 

4. The model must meet Pedestrian Protection requirements according to United Nations Regulations UN127 or GTR9, which must be validated on market units at a Global NCAP designated testing laboratory. 

5. Conformity with all of these requirements must be validated at a Global NCAP designated laboratory and by the provision of type approval certificates where applicable.

Collins Khumalo, CEO of the AA says: "This Award will be a unique opportunity for car manufactures and importers in Africa to highlight and market their commitment to vehicle safety, and road safety on the continent.

"It will also allow them to differentiate themselves by making safer cars available to consumers. We are thrilled to partner with Global NCAP on this important Award and believe it is a critical step towards achieving our goals of making travel safer on our continent." 


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.