New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Vettel smashes Abu Dhabi GP

2013-11-03 16:46


VETTEL WINS, AGAIN: Sebastian Vettel dominated the 2013 Abu Dhabi GP on Sunday with his seventh consecutive win in a row, and his 11th for the season. Image: AFP

ABU DHABI, United Arab Emirates - Red Bull's fourth consecutive Championship winner Sebastian Vettel won the 2013 Abu Dhabi GP on Sunday, clinching his seventh successive win in a row this season.

The newly-crowned champion claimed his fourth-consecutive Championship title at the 2013 Indian GP earlier in October. His win at the Abu Dhabi GP saw him match Michael Schumacher’s seven-in-a-row race wins in one year when he set the record in 2004. This is Vettel's 11th win for 2013 and his 37th career win.

Red Bull had another one-two win with Mark Wbber in second place and Nico Rosberg third for Mercedes.


Vettel was leading the entire race by more than 30 seconds ahead of Mark Webber behind him in second place. It’s safe to say, this was another one of the most boring races of the year except for some battling further up the field.

Mercedes boys Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg tried to slip the front row but Sebastian Vettel rocketed off before they had another chance.

Kimi Raikkonen was already out on the first lap, suspected contact at the back of the field. He had started 22nd on the grid as he was excluded from qualifying lost spot due to his under flooring issue. Perhaps it was because the ‘Iceman’ was not as used to the drivers on the back end of the grid.

Jenson Button had damage on his front wing and had a quick change on Lap 3.

Mercedes was quite concerned about Hamilton’s car as he had quite a few parts replaced before the race, including his rear brakes.

Vettel was already leading his closest rival Nico Rosberg by two seconds. Both Rosberg and Hamilton were ahead of the Ferraris of Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa which meant they could have second place for the Constructor’s title in the bag.

Most drivers had come in for pit stops by Lap 7. Hamilton seemed to be battling out on the field pushing further back. By Lap 9 he was in 12th place and had already been through the pits.

Rosberg warned his rear tyres were going out on Lap 10. Vettel was still fastest on the first sector with his first set of tyres on Lap 10. He came in for his next set of Medium tyres on Lap 14 after lapping on 1min46seconds.

Raikkonen was seen leaving the race back to the hotel, not even sticking around for debriefing.


Incident between Hamilton and one of the Sauber drivers on Lap 17. Hamilton was heard saying on the team radio “Charlie needs to know he’s moving more than once.”

Alonso made a pit stop on Lap 17. Massa fighting for his career passing Hamilton on Lap 26 for sixth place. “A great piece of opportunist driving” said the race commentator.  Then picks off Adrian Sutil for fifth. Massa had always helped his team mate Alonso in the past, but this race showed he is not holding back as he still needs to secure a seat for 2014.
Some Caterham drama on the radios as Charles Pic argued as to why he had to move over for team mate Giedo van der Garde .

Hamilton finally passed Sutil again on Lap 28 with DRS open while Nico Hulkenburg was investigated for unsafe release on his second pit stop and got a drive through penalty on Lap 34/35.

Vettel was 30 seconds ahead of Mark Webber in second place on Lap 33. Webber and Mercedes’s Rosberg pitted together for the last stop on Lap 34.

Sutil and Pastor Maldanado were being investigated for unsafe speeds. Vettel finally comes in on Lap 38 for his last stop reclaiming his first spot. Battle on Lap 38 as Romain Grosjean and Alonso fight for fourth.  Sadly Massa had to make a pit stop on Lap 39 and had to give up his position, but fresher tyres should have been to his advantage falling back in ninth place.

Massa lost his place to Alonso on Lap 46 putting him back in ninth after locking up in the chicane.

Vettel told on Lap 49 to “be patient” on the team radio when he heard someone else set a fastest lap time.

By Lap 50 Paul Di Resta was fifth, Alonso in sixth and Hamilton in seventh, 40 seconds behind his team mate Rosberg in third place. McLaren’s Jenson Button had a super quiet race out in P13. 
Alonso will be investigated after the race for an incident of exceeding the track limits. Vettel is also likely to face more 'donut' fines for repeating his offence at the end of the race.

Result from the Formula One Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit on Sunday
1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) RedBull - Renault 1:38:06.106
2. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull - Renault +00:30.829
3. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 00:33.650
4. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 00:34.802
5. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 01:07.181
6. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India - Mercedes 01:18.174
7. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 01:19.267
8. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 01:22.886
9. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 01:31.198
10. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 01:33.257
11. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams - Renault 01:35.989
12. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 01:43.767
13. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 01:44.295
14. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1 lap
15. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams - Renault 1 lap
16. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap
17. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Ferrari 1 lap
18. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham - Renault 1 lap
19. Charles Pic (France) Caterham - Renault 1 lap
20. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia - Cosworth 2 laps
21. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - Cosworth 2 laps
r. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus - Renault 55 laps (rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Driver and constructor standings after the Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
Drivers Points
1. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 347
2. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 217
3. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 183
4. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 175
5. Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 166
6. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 159
7. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 114
8. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 106
9. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 60
10. Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 48
11. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber 39
12. Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 35
13. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 29
14. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 19
15. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 13
16. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 6
17. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1
18. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 0
19. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia 0
20. Charles Pic (France) Caterham 0
21. Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham 0
22. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 0

Constructors Points
1. RedBull - Renault 513
2. Mercedes 334
3. Ferrari 323
4. Lotus - Renault 297
5. McLaren 95
6. Force India - Mercedes 77
7. Sauber - Ferrari 45
8. Toro Rosso - Ferrari 32
9. Williams - Renault 1
10. Marussia - Cosworth 0
11. Caterham - Renault 0


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.