WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

Van der Linde (15) crowned VW Cup champ

2014-11-03 12:50

RUNS IN THE FAMILY: Sheldon van der Linde, at 15 years old, has become the youngest champion yet in the South African VW Cup series. Image: Volkswagen

PRETORIA, Gauteng - Sheldon van der Linde became the youngest champion yet in the Volkswagen Cup series on Saturday (Oct 31) when Zwartkops Raceway played host to the final round of the Super Series.

At 15-years-old, Van der Linde is a year younger than his brother Kelvin was, when he won the title in this series two years earlier - and is also the youngest National sedan racing champion in South African history

While Van der Linde emerged as the latest champion in the VW Cup series, Mathew Hodges put his name on the Masters title for the 2014 season. Hodges has competed in this series for the eight years with 2014 his first in the Masters category (drivers older than 27).


A championship victory for Van der Linde and second overall in the championship for his team mate Daniel Rowe saw Ferodo Racing claim the VW Team Award with 11 wins, 13 podium results, 14 pole starts and 13 fastest laps between them from 16 race starts.

The overall results for the year see Van der Linde (who received the Rookie of the Year award) at the top of the podium, Dewald Brummer second and Daniel Rowen third. The drivers received R25 000, R15 000 and R10 000 respectively for their achievement.

While Hodges finished as the top Master, Trevor Bland was second and Juan Gerber third. Here the racers were awarded R12 500, R7500 and R5000 each.

The Most Improved Driver of the Year was awarded to Andrea Bate after improving from a 19th finish in 2013 to seventh in 2014.

The Driver of the Day award for the final race day of the year went to Shaun La Reservée who was second overall at the Zwartkops event.

1 Sheldon van der Lind
2 Mathew Hodges
3 Tasmin Pepper

1 Sheldon van der Linde
2 Shaun La Reservée
3 Tasmin Pepper

1 Sheldon van der Linde
2 Shaun La Reservée
3 Mathew Hodges

1 Mathew Hodges
2 Juan Gerber
3 Marius Roberts

1 Sheldon van der Linde - 345
2 Dewald Brummer - 307
3 Daniel Rowe - 293
4 Tasmin Pepper - 274
5 Mathew Hodges - 250
Read more on:    racing  |  motorsport

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.