New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Sizzling Marquez wins Indy GP

2013-08-19 07:38

Simon Evans

HAT TRICK FOR MARQUEZ: The three Spaniards were back on the podium on Sunday after (from left) Dani Pedrosa, Marc Marquez and Jorge Lorenzo came home 2-1-3 respectively in the 2013 Indianapolis MotoGP. Image: AFP

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana - Spain's rookie sensation Marc Marquez extended his lead in the MotoGP World championship on Sunday with another convincing victory, this time from the Indianapolis race.

Compatriot and Honda team mate Dani Pedrosa was second, 3.495sec behind Marquez, with yet another Spaniard, Jorge Lorenzo, third for Yamaha. Italy's seven-times World champion Valentino Rossi burst through into fourth on the final lap.

Marquez's win, his third in a row, completes his sweep of the races in the US - the others were Laguna Seca and Austin.

"Maybe I should make America my next country, I've won the three races here... I love it," joked Marquez after extending his lead at the top of the standings to 21 points from Pedrosa (167) and reigning World champion Lorenzo (153).

Marquez topped every session he took part in during the weekend and started on pole for the 27-lap race. After a poor start the 20-year-old fought his way into the lead, overtaking Lorenzo on lap nine and Pedrosa four laps later.

Pedrosa looked as it he would have to settle for third but powered ahead of Lorenzo at the start of the penultimate lap.

Pedrosa and Lorenzo, both coming back from injuries, gained their first podium finishes since the Catalan GP in Barcelona two months earlier.

Rossi's late burst saw him overtake Cal Crutchlow and Alvaro Bautista on the final lap to claim fourth.

Result from the 2013 Indianpolis MotoGP
1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 44min52.463
2 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 44min55.958
3 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 44min58.167
4 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 45min12.358
5 Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Yamaha 45min12.418
6 Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 45min12.524
7 Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 45min17.305
8 Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 45min33.153
9 Nicky Hayden (US) Ducati 45min33.164
10 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 45min33.286
11 Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 45min52.131
12 Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Aprilia 45min59.113
13 Colin Edwards (US) FTR 46min01.925
14 Claudio Corti (Italy) FTR 46min07.670
15 Hiroshi Aoyama (Japan) FTR 46min12.622

MotoGP points
1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda - 188
2 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda - 167
3 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha - 153
4 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha - 130
5 Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Yamaha - 127
6 Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda - 93
7 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati - 87
8 Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda - 81
9 Nicky Hayden (US) Ducati - 72
10 Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha - 59
11 Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Aprilia - 56
12 Michele Pirro (Italy) Ducati - 36
13 Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati - 29
14 Hector Barbera (Spain) FTR - 24
15 Colin Edwards (US) FTR - 20
Read more on:    marquez  |  lorenzo  |  pedrosa  |  indianapolis  |  motogp

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.