New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Rosberg tops final German GP practice

2014-07-19 13:00

THIS IS MINE: Nico Rosberg has again lapped fastest during the final free practice session ahead of the 2014 German GP on Sunday. Image: AP/Antonio Calanni

HOCKENHEIM, Germany- Nico Rosberg returned to the top of the time sheets in final practice for his home German GP on Saturday as Mercedes again ended the session clear of the rest.

Rosberg, who leads team mate Lewis Hamilton by four points at the halfway stage in the F1 championship, lapped with a best time of 1min17.779 seconds on a baking morning at Hockenheim.


With clear skies and track temperatures approaching 50 degrees Celsius, the German was a considerable 0.601 faster than Hamilton - who set the pace on Friday but looks to have his work cut out in qualifying if he is to beat Rosberg to pole.

Mercedes also finished both Friday sessions with their drivers first and second.

Ferrari's Fernando Alonso, winner of the last two races held at Hockenheim with the latest in 2012, was third fastest and 0.605 slower than Rosberg despite a spin.

Williams drivers Felipe Massa and Valtteri Bottas were fourth and fifth respectively with McLaren's Danish rookie Kevin Magnussen making it five Mercedes-engined cars in the top six.

Germany's quadruple world champion Sebastian Vettel, winner at the Nurburgring in 2013, was only ninth fastest with Red Bull team mate Daniel Ricciardo seventh.

3rd and Final Free Practice Session from the F1 German GP at Hockenheimring
1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1min17.779
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1min18.380
3. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 1min18.384
4. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1min18.575
5. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams-Mercedes 1min18.611
6. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) McLaren 1min18.756
7. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull - Renault 1min18.769
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1min18.842
9. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull - Renault 1min18.890
10. Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India - Mercedes 1min19.127
11. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso - Renault 1min19.131
12. Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso - Renault 1min19.470
13. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 1min19.489
14. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India - Mercedes 1min19.505
15. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber - Ferrari 1min19.601
16. Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus - Renault 1min20.078
17. Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia - Ferrari 1min20.198
18. Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus - Renault 1min20.466
19. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Sauber - Ferrari 1min20.844
20. Kamui Kobayashi (Japan) Caterham - Renault 1min21.018
21. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Caterham - Renault 1min23.077
22. Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia - Ferrari 1min23.449

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2014 German GP this weekend.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.