New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Merc driver duel set for Bahrain GP

2015-04-16 13:29

BATTLE AT SAKHIR: Lewis Hamilton (centre) waves to spectators after winning in China, flanked by Nico Rosberg (left) and Sebastian Vettel. Who will win in Bahrain? Image: AP / Andy Wong

MANAMA, Bahrain - Formula 1 champion Lewis Hamilton has 35 career wins to his name after his victory for Mercedes in China on Sunday (April 12). 

Ferrari's Sebastian Vettel tops him with 40 victories, while McLaren's Fernando Alonso has 32, Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen 20 and McLaren's Jenson Button 15.

One more win for Vettel will put him level with the late Brazilian triple world champion Ayrton Senna in third place in the all-time lists.

Ferrari has won 222 races, McLaren 182, Williams 114 and Red Bull 50. Mercedes has won 31.


Another interesting statistic is that McLaren has not won for 41 races, a run that dates back to Brazil 2012. McLaren went 48 races without a win from 1993-97.

Some other interesting statistics for the Bahrain Grand Prix at the Sakhir circuit: Mercedes has been on pole for the last 14 races, but the record for successful poles is 24 (Williams 1992/93). Hamilton has started every race this season on pole, but has never been on pole for four successive races. His team mate Rosberg took 11 poles last year. 

Mercedes and Williams were the only teams to start on pole last year and Ferrari's last pole was in Germany with Alonso in 2012.

Only three drivers have appeared on the podium this season - Hamilton, Rosberg and Vettel. It is the first time the same drivers have filled the top three places in the first three races.

McLaren has now gone three races without scoring a point. The last time the team went four successive races without a point was 2009.


The 2015 Bahrain GP race is the 11th edition. The grand prix was first held in 2004 and not held in 2011 due to civil unrest. It switched to a floodlit race last year (2014).

Fernando Alonso has won three times in Bahrain, more than any other driver, but even scoring a point with McLaren on Sunday looks unlikely. Felipe Massa and Vettel have both won twice.


The driver on pole in Bahrain has been the winner in four of the 10 races to date. It has never been won by anyone starting below the front two rows and nine out of 10 winners have been from the team that ended up winning the constructors' title. The exception was Alonso for Ferrari in 2010.

Rosberg made his F1 debut in Bahrain in 2006.

Hamilton took pole, fastest lap and the win in China - the seventh time in his F1 career he has done that, which equals Senna's tally. Only five drivers have had more such hat-tricks.

Hamilton has also been on the podium for 10 races in a row, the longest such run he has had. In his 2007 debut season he chalked up nine successive podium finishes.

Below are F1 statistics for the Bahrain GP:

Lap distance: 5.412km. Total distance: 308.238km (57 laps)

Race lap record: Pedro de la Rosa (Spain) 1:31.447 (McLaren 2005)

2014 pole: Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 1:33.185

2014 winner: Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes

Start time: 15:00GMT (South Africa: 17:00)

Tyres: Medium (white), Soft (yellow).


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.