WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

Marquez makes it eight in a row

2014-06-28 15:31

IT'S EIGHT IN A ROW! Honda's Marc Marquez won the 2014 Assen MotoGP to takes his eighth consecutive win of the season. Image: AFP

Yet another win - the eighth in a row - for Honda's Marc Marquez, this time from the 2014 Dutch MotoGP at Assen after a long battle with Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso.

Marquez is the first rider since Giacomo Agostini way back in in 1971 to win the first eight races of a season and now has a maximum 200 points, with Italian Valentino Rossi and Spain's Dani Pedrosa level on 128.

The 21-year-old Spaniard triumphed after an intially wet race in the Netherlands which saw riders swopping - and then re-swopping - from slicks to wet-weather tyres in the early stages.

The race then settled down as the racing line dried and it became a battle between Honda ace Marquez and a determined Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati) who held on to the end to take second, followed well behind by Honda's Dani Pedrosa.

Results from the 2014 Assen MotoGP on Saturday
1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 43min29.954
2 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 43min36.668
3 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 43min40.745
4 Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 43min49.153
5 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 43min55.767
6 Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 43min58.957
7 Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 44min00.836
8 Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 44min00.939
9 Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Ducati 44min13.985
10 Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 44min18.616
11 Broc Parkes (Australia) PBM 44min21.817
12 Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 44min30.283
13 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 44min34.595
14 Karel Abraham (Czech Republic) Honda 44min35.934
15 Danilo Petrucci (Italy) ART 44min47.565

MotoGP points
1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda - 200
2 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha - 128
3 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda - 128
4 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati - 91
5 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha - 81
6 Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha - 67
7 Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha - 58
8 Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda - 56
9 Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati - 51
10 Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha - 48
11 Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda - 43
12 Scott Redding (Britain) Honda - 28
13 Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Honda - 27
14 Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati - 27
15 Hiroshi Aoyama (Japan) Honda - 24


VETERAN Australian rider Anthony West (Speed Up) won the Moto2 race at the Dutch motorcycle Grand Prix meet in Assen. It was 32-year-old West's first win in 11 years after finishing first in the same race back in 2003.

Spanish rider Maverick Vinales (Kalex) was second and another long-time rider, Mika Kallio from Finland, was (also Kalex).

Championship leader Esteve Rabat who started from pole, battled in the wet on his Kalex, was eighth. He retains top spot in the standings on 157 points, 26 ahead of nearest rival Kallio.

Assen Moto 2 result
1 Anthony West (Australia) Speed up 46min02.089
2 Maverick Vinales (Spain) Kalex 46min02.407
3 Mika Kallio (Finland) Kalex 46min02.832
4 Johann Zarco (France) Caterham Suter 46min09.389
5 Alex de Angelis (San Marino) Suter 46min13.342
6 Thomas Luethi (Switzerland) Suter 46min17.021
7 Julian Simon (Spain) Kalex 46min19.747
8 Esteve Rabat (Spain) Kalex 46min22.266
9 Lorenzo Baldassarri (Italy) Suter 46min27.349
10 Hafizh Syahrin (Malaysia) Kalex 46min52.850
11 Gino Rea (Britain) Suter 46min53.615
12 Marcel Schroetter (Germany) Tech 3 46min53.781
13 Simone Corsi (Italy) Forward KLX 46min59.197
14 Takaaki Nakagami (Japan) Kalex 47min08.702
15 Luis Salom (Spain) Kalex 47min17.589

Assen Moto2 points
1 Esteve Rabat (Spain) Kalex - 157
2 Mika Kallio (Finland) Kalex - 131
3 Maverick Vinales (Spain) Kalex - 109
4 Dominique Aegerter (Switzerland) Suter - 71
5 Simone Corsi (Italy) Forward KLX - 69
6 Thomas Luethi (Switzerland) Suter - 61
7 Luis Salom (Spain) Kalex - 60
8 Anthony West (Australia) Speed up - 58
9 Jonas Folger (Germany) Kalex - 47
10 Johann Zarco (France) Caterham Suter - 46
11 Sam Lowes (Britain) Speed up - 33
12 Sandro Cortese (Germany) Kalex - 32
13 Marcel Schroetter (Germany) Tech 3 - 32
14 Xavier Simeon (Belgium) Suter - 31
15 Alex de Angelis (San Marino) Suter - 29


SPAIN'S's Alex Marquez claimed his second consecutive victory in the Moto3 race at Assen on June 28 2014.

Marquez, 18, whose brother Marc is the MotoGP championship leader (and won the day's MotoGP race), won for Honda ahead of fellow Spanish rider Alex Rins (also Honda) and Portugual's Miguel Oliveira (Mahindra).

Moto3 championship leader Jack Miller of Australia (KTM) took an early tumble but retains his overall lead on 117 points after eight races, seven ahead of KTM's Romano Fenati of Italy and Marquez, now each on 110 points.

Assen Moto3 result
1 Alex Marquez (Spain) Honda 38min07.648
2 Alex Rins (Spain) Honda 38min10.608
3 Miguel Oliveira (Portugal) Mahindra 38min11.292
4 Alexis Masbou (France) Honda 38min23.998
5 Niccolo Antonelli (Italy) KTM 38min24.114
6 Efren Vazquez (Spain) Honda 38min24.135
7 Isaac Vinales (Spain) KTM 38min24.179
8 Danny Kent (Britain) Husqvarna 38min24.207
9 Brad Binder (South Africa) Mahindra 38min24.291
10 John McPhee (Britain) Honda 38min24.334

Assen Moto3 points
1 Jack Miller (Australia) KTM - 117
2 Romano Fenati (Italy) KTM - 110
3 Alex Marquez (Spain) Honda - 110
4 Alex Rins (Spain) Honda - 107
5 Efren Vazquez (Spain) Honda - 102
6 Isaac Vinales (Spain) KTM - 82
7 Alexis Masbou (France) Honda - 63
8 Miguel Oliveira (Portugal) Mahindra - 53
9 Enea Bastianini (Italy) KTM - 45
10 Jakub Kornfeil (Czech Republic) KTM - 43
11 Francesco Bagnaia (Italy) KTM - 42
12 John McPhee (Britain) Honda - 36
13 Niklas Ajo (Finland) Husqvarna - 35
14 Danny Kent (Britain) Husqvarna - 35
15 Brad Binder (South Africa) Mahindra - 29
Read more on:    netherlands

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.