Marquez clinches Le Mans pole

2013-05-18 17:41

LE MANS, France - World championship leader Marc Marquez (Honda) took his second pole position in MotoGP on Saturday, this time for the French event at Le Mans.

The 20-year-old wunderkind Spaniard who became the youngest MotoGP winner when he won the GP of the Americas in April 2013 clocked 1min32.187 to beat compatriot Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) by 0.03sec.

Italian Andrea Dovizioso was third, 0.416sec behind Marques.


"I'm very happy. I had the confidence," Marquez said.

Dani Pedrosa crashed but was back on his bike to take the sixth-fastest time behind Britain's Cal Crutchlow and German Stefan Bradl, fourth and fifth respectively.

Nine-times World champion Valentino Rossi, looking to clinch his 80th career MotoGP, manage only eighth on the grid.

Result from the Motorcycling Grand Prix of France Qualification on Saturday
1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 1min33.187
2 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 1min33.217
3 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 1min33.603
4 Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Yamaha 1min33.609
5 Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 1min33.634
6 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 1min33.639
7 Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 1min33.984
8 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 1min34.009
9 Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 1min34.222
10 Nicky Hayden (US) Ducati 1min34.242

Moto2 qualification
1 Takaaki Nakagami (Japan) Kalex 1min38.508
2 Scott Redding (Britain) Kalex 1min38.858
3 Johann Zarco (France) Suter 1min39.187
4 Esteve Rabat (Spain) Pons Kalex 1min39.193
5 Xavier Simeon (Belgium) Kalex 1min39.296
6 Nicolas Terol (Spain) Suter 1min39.333
7 Pol Espargaro (Spain) Pons Kalex 1min39.355
8 Thomas Luethi (Switzerland) Suter 1min39.437
9 Mattia Pasini (Italy) Speed up 1min39.543
10 Mika Kallio (Finland) Kalex 1min39.558

Moto3 qualification
1 Maverick Vinales (Spain) KTM 1min43.696
2 Miguel Oliveira (Portugal) Mahindra 1min43.806
3 Jonas Folger (Germany) Kalex 1min43.969
4 Alex Rins (Spain) KTM 1min44.123
5 Luis Salom (Spain) KTM 1min44.178
6 Jack Miller (Australia) FTR 1min44.278
7 Alex Marquez (Spain) KTM 1min44.320
8 Isaac Vinales (Spain) FTR 1min44.548
9 Niklas Ajo (Finland) KTM 1min44.560
10 Alexis Masbou (France) FTR 1min44.600