WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

Karting records, drama at Killarney

2014-03-03 14:16

LEGEND IN THE MAKING: Troy Dolinschek in action at Killarney on Saturday March 1 2014. Image: Supplied

CAPE TOWN, Western Cape - Round 2 of the Western Cape karting championships was a spectacular affair with unexpected winners picking up the pieces of fraught lead battles on Saturday March 2.
Henry Bam was one of the benefactors when he won a High School Junior Max 125cc Race 3 win after his Race winning brother Kohen tangled with Race 1 winner Delano Fowler to allow Henry to take the win overall from Fowler and an impressive Dino Stermin.

Kohen Bam ended fifth to split a day-long battle between Isabella Fowler in fourth from duo Chadley Swartz  and Giordano Lupini.

The Maxterino 60 Primary School kids also went against form when JP Hamman emerged victorious after moving from fourth to first in Race 2 when Race 3 winner Dario Busi, Race 1 winner Charl Visser and Aidan Strydom tangled on the final lap.

It left Busi second overall from Visser, who broke the class lap record en route to his Race 1 win, and Strydom with the consistent Jason Coetzee fifth from Tyler Croy.
Luke Herring smashed his class lap record, and stormed to a trio of Open Senior Max 125cc wins from Julian van der Watt  and Jurie Swart. Fourth-placed Jono Aberdein spoiled the top three from finishing in that order in every race when he slotted in ahead of Swart in Race 2. Hilton Pieterswas fifth.
Luke van Rensburg won three times from the similar karts of Jonathan Thomas and Stephen Wells after technical issues foiled pole man Wesley Orr’s karting return. Lourens van Rensburg trotted to a trio of wins in a father-and-son Class benefit.

Troy Dolinschek enjoyed a perfect day with a trio of wins in the baby Cadet Class ahead of the similar machines of Kyle Visser, Adriaan Louw, Jason MacBeath, Julius Schwager and Paul Malcolm.
Dale Fourie was unchallenged in a sparse Clubmans Class A, while Kuhle Ndaba impressed to win Class B from Robert Fischer and Dylan Mitchell and George Veneris beat Jody Van Rensburg  and Mark Manson in Class C.
The Regional championship will  take a break until May 17 2014 with National championship competitors heading for the Nationals in Port Elizabeth on March 20 2014 before Killarney’s home National championship meeting on April 26 2014.

Read more on:    western cape  |  cape town  |  racing  |  motorsports

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.