WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

Indianapolis MotoGP: How they'll start...

2014-08-09 21:04

STROLL IN THE PARK: The grid girls walk in the paddock during the 2014 Indianapolis MotoGP weekend's free practice on Friday (August 8). And you thought fine legs only happened in cricket. Image: Getty Images/AFP

So it's Marc Marquez yet again on pole, this time for the 2014 Indianapolis MotoGP - will he convert it into a 10th win in a row on the American circuit?

His time of 1min31.619 just pipped Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso (1min31.844) and joining them on the front row will be Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo (1min31.869).

Marquez' team mate Dani Pedrosa is well down the grid in eighth with a time of 1min32.331 with (in order) ahead of him Aleix Espargaro ((Yamaha), Valentino Rossi (Yamaha), Pol Espargaro (Yamaha) and Andrea Iannone (Ducati).


Bradley Smith (Yamaha) took a bad fall just before the end of second qualifying from which Marquez emerged a clear leader with a time of 1min31.619. Smith was pushed along the tarmac by his bike and spent a long time on his knees trackside.

Spaniard Marquez hopes to keep his perfect start to the season intact by winning his 10th straight race here on Sunday.

He's the youngest rider in history to win nine races in a row, has a perfect total of 225 points in the World standings and is 77 points ahead of Honda team mate Dani Pedrosa.


Marquez said on Thursday he was well rested and eager to kick off the second half of the 18-race season at Indianapolis. "We had some rest over the holidays, one week more or less, but now we are ready to go again.

"We're excited to ride again and to look at the new layout and the new surface here at Indy."

Marquez dominated the 2014 German MotoGP in July at the Sachsenring, finishing ahead of compatriot Pedrosa with former double World champion Jorge Lorenzo third.

With that victory, the 21-year-old Marquez surpassed Mike Hailwood as the youngest rider to win nine consecutive races. Hailwood did it in 1964 - Marquez' double figures could well arrive on Sunday - Wheels24 wishes him (and all the other bikers) a safe and successful ride. - Wheels24 / Sapa

2014 Indianapolis MotoGP qualification
1 Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 1min31.619
2 Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 1min31.844
3 Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 1min31.869
4 Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 1min32.113
5 Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 1min32.160
6 Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 1min32.243
7 Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 1min32.254
8 Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 1min32.331
9 Bradley Smith (Britain) Yamaha 1min32.343
10 Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 1min32.514

MotoGP points ahead of the 2014 Indianapolis race
1 Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) - 225
2 Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) - 148
3 Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) - 141
4 Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) - 99
5 Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Yamaha) - 97
6 Aleix Espargaro (ESP/Yamaha-Forward) - 77
7 Pol Espargaro (ESP/Yamaha Tech3) - 67
8 Andrea Iannone (ITA/Ducati Pramac) - 62
9 Stefan Bradl (GER/Honda LCR) - 56
10 Alvaro Bautista (ESP/Honda Gresini) - 50
11 Bradley Smith (GBR/Yamaha) - 48
12 Scott Redding (GBR/Honda) - 3

2014 Indianapolis Moto2 qualification
1 Mika KALLIO (Marc Kalex) 1min36.883    
2 Esteve RABAT (Kalex) 1min37.056
3 Dominique AEGERTER (Suter) 1min37.209
4 Johann ZARCO (Suter) 1min37.452
5 Simone CORSI (Kalex) 1min37.456
6 Maverick VINALES (Kalex) 1min37.513    
7 Takaaki NAKAGAMI (Kalex) 1min37.524
8 Sandro CORTESE (Kalex) 1min37.558
9 Thomas LUTHI (Suter) 1min37.582    
10 Sam LOWES (Speed Up) 1min37.664

2014 Indianapolis Moto3 qualification
1 Jack Miller (Australia) KTM 1min40.727
2 Efren Vazquez (Spain) Honda 1min40.807
3 Alex Marquez (Spain) Honda 1min40.808
4 Romano Fenati (Italy) KTM 1min40.829
5 Juanfran Guevara (Spain) Kalex 1min41.007
6 Jorge Navarro (Spain) Kalex 1min41.248
7 John McPhee (Britain) Honda 1min41.284
8 Francesco Bagnaia (Italy) KTM 1min41.293
9 Alessandro Tonucci (Italy) Mahindra 1min41.296
10 Karel Hanika (Czech Republic) KTM 1min41.311
Read more on:    motorcycle racing  |  indianapolis

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.