Habig, Paisley win in Gauteng

2013-06-03 08:24

South African rally veterans Jan Habig and Robert Paisley saw off challenges from younger rivals to win the 2013 Toyota Dealer Rally in an S2000 Ford Fiesta.

The pair recorded a 45sec win over rivals Johnny Gemmell and Carolyn Swan (Toyota Yaris) after two days and 10 special stages totalling 177km around Bapsfontein.

Enzo Kuun and Douglas Judd (VW Polo) were third, 20sec behind Gemmell and Swan.


Fourth were veteran Giniel de Villiers and Greg Godrich (Yaris) who beat rising stars Henk Lategan and Barry White (Polo) by 0.9sec.

Mohammed Moosa and Andre Vermeulen (Toyota Auris) were fifth overall but first in the S2000 Challenge for older-specced all-wheel drive cars.

Defending champion and current points leader Gugu Zulu, competing with stand-in co-driver Gerhard Snyman, was seventh overall and second in the S2000 Challenge, 10sec behind Moosa and Vermeulen.

Defending National champions Mark Cronje and Robin Houghton (Ford Fiesta) were eighth overall after their chances of a hat-trick victory were scuppered when they lost their front-wheel drive during the  opening stage on May 31.

Cronje/Houghton started the final day 12th and 5min21 behind overnight leaders Habig/Paisley  and won the first three stages on June 1, closing the gap to the winners by 30sec.

Stefanie Botha and father Willem Hugo (Toyota RunX) recorded their best result yet in 2013 - ninth overall - but third in the S2000 Challenge.


Wilro Dippenaar and Kes Naidoo (Toyota Auris) completed the top 10 and were fourth in the S2000 Challenge and seventh overall with the final stage remaining. Engine problems prevented them starting the Super Special though the rules make provision for a competitor to be automatically entered in the Super Rally and be awarded a stage time of fastest time recorded in the class with an additional five minutes.

Championship leaders Thilo Himmel and Armand du Toit (Toyota Etios) won the S1600 class for two-wheel drive cars and finished 12th overall, 5min44 ahead of Clint Weston and Christoff Snyders (Citroen C2 R2). Craig Trott and co-driver Janine Lourens (RunX) were third.

Matthew Vacy-Lyle and Schalk van Heerden (RunX) were fourth, ahead of Chad van Beurden and Henry Dearlove Jnr (Polo R2). Sixth were Andrew Heine and Stephen Jones (Auris).

The next round of the 2013 SA Rally championship, the Volkswagen Rally, will be held in the Eastern Cape over July 19/20.