New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Rolls reveals more of Ghost

2009-06-12 14:50

Production Ghost will be based on the 200EX concept

Rolls-Royce has released more details about the Ghost expected to debut at this year's Frankfurt Motor Show.

The company has revealed that the car, which will share its platform with the new BMW 7 Series, will ride on aluminium multi-link front and rear axles.

A four-corner air suspension system, which can lower or raise the car by 25 mm, will give its occupants the luxurious and refined ride comfort they'd expected from Rolls-Royce.

The car's key features are controlled by dual Integrated Chassis Management systems to manage and integrate it's different handling and safety programmes, while a multitude of sensors will monitor Ghost's every function.

Lap of luxury

Systems include active roll stabilisation and variable damping control, and Rolls-Royce claims the new air suspension system is so sensitive it can detect and compensate for the smallest changes, including making allowances when a passenger on the rear bench moves from one seat to another.

"A Rolls-Royce should be effortless in every way: the way it accelerates, brakes and handles," Rolls-Royce engineering director Helmut Riedl said.

"It should do all of these functions with apparent ease regardless of the complex mechanicals that are working out of sight of the driver and passengers. The driver simply has to point the car in the preferred direction of travel and press the accelerator."

Rolls-Royce has previously revealed that the car will be powered by an all-new 6.6-litre turbocharged V12 engine with "upwards of 373 kW" on tap. It will be mated to an eight-speed automatic transmission.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.