New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Everything you need to know about the 2015 Mexican GP

2015-10-30 08:15

SELFIE TIME: Toro Rosso driver Max Verstappen takes a selfie with fans ahead of this weekend's Mexican GP at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit. Image: AFP / Peter Fox


Watch newly-crowned F1 champion Lewis Hamilton step into the ring and show off his wrestling skills at a lucha libre event in Mexico City.

Mexico City, Mexico - The newly-designed Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez circuit will host the first Grand Prix in Mexico since 1992 on Sunday (November 1).

In July 2015, Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo became the first driver on the current F1 grid to drive on the circuit. This weekend, the rest of the field will get to grips with the track.

We've outlined all the best bits about the upcoming race:


Sergio Perez will be only the third Mexican driver to start a Mexican Grand Prix. The other two were Pedro Rodriguez (1963-1970) and Moises Solana (1963-68).

There was no Mexican GP when Hector Rebaque was racing in 1977-81 or when Esteban Gutierrez competed in 2013-14. Rodriguez's brother Ricardo was killed on the first day of practice for the non-championship Mexican GP in 1962.

This will be the 16th time Mexico has held a GP.

The last Mexican Grand Prix winner was Britain's Nigel Mansell in 1992. The final corner is now named after him.

Honda's first grand prix win was in Mexico with US driver Richie Ginther in 1965. Michael Schumacher took his first F1 podium at the circuit in 1992.

The circuit is the highest altitude of any on the calendar (2200 metres above sea level) and the pit straight is one of the longest in F1. Cars could exceed speeds of around 330kph.

Lap distance: 4.3km. Total distance: 305.4km (71 laps).

The circuit had been changed considerably since the last Mexican GP in 1992.

Race start time: 9pm (SA time)

Tyres: Medium (white), Soft (yellow)

Watch: Ferrari preview the Mexico GP


Mercedes has retained both their titles, with the constructors' crown secured in Russia and Lewis Hamilton taking his third F1 title in Texas last Sunday (October 25).

He became the first British driver to win two titles in a row, and is only the second Briton to become a triple champion after Jackie Stewart.

Hamilton is the 10th driver to have won three or more titles.


Mercedes has had nine one-twos this season and won 13 of the 16 races.

Hamilton (10) is the first driver to win 10 or more races in successive seasons. He won 11 in 2014.

Four-times world champion Sebastian Vettel has won three races for Ferrari this season. That is the same number that Michael Schumacher won in his first season at Ferrari in 1996.

Hamilton has 43 career wins, putting him third in the all-time lists and pushing Vettel down to fourth with 42. Schumacher holds the record of 91, with Alain Prost on 51. Fernando Alonso has 32 wins, Kimi Raikkonen 20, Jenson Button 15 and Nico Rosberg 11.

Ferrari has won 224 races, McLaren 182, Williams 114 and Red Bull 50. Mercedes has won 42.

McLaren has not won for 54 races, a run that dates back to Brazil 2012 and surpasses the team's previous worst barren run of 53 races without a win between the 1977 Japanese GP and 1981 British GP.

Pole position

Hamilton has been on pole in 11 of 16 races this season, Rosberg four. The Briton has 49 career poles, Rosberg 19. Vettel has 46 career poles.

Only two drivers in F1 history have had 50 poles or more: Schumacher (68) and Senna (65).

Rosberg has been on pole in the last three races, without winning any of them.


Ten drivers from six teams have been on the podium in 2015: Hamilton, Rosberg (Mercedes), Vettel, Raikkonen (Ferrari), Valtteri Bottas, Felipe Massa (Williams), Daniil Kvyat and Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull), Romain Grosjean (Lotus) and Sergio Perez (Force India).

Hamilton, Rosberg and Vettel have shared the podium in eight races.

Rosberg has been second on seven occasions this season.

Vettel has had 12 podium finishes so far in 2015, more than in his title-winning 2010 and 2013 seasons.


Rosberg is now the driver to have had most poles and not won a world championship.

He previously shared the record with Frenchman Rene Arnoux, who took his 18 between 1979 and 1983.

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2015 Mexican GP this weekend.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.