New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Dakar: Tough Stage 9, worse on Wednesday

2014-01-14 22:15

PLAYING WITH SHADOWS: Spanish biker Marc Coma looks like he's hitching a ride on a chopper with his KTM during the 2014 Rally Dakar Stage 9 between Calama and Iquique, Chile, on January 14, 2014. image: AFP


Thousands of kilometres, and thousands more to go - a photographic look back at the first six stage of the 2014 Dakar Rally in Argentina, South America. A story of heroism, heartbreak - and, sadly, death. Images: AFP

IQUIQUE, Chile - French rally great Stephane Peterhansel boosted his hopes of a hat trick of Dakar Rally wins by winning Tuesday's Stage 9 of the race.

Peterhansel brought his Mini home fastest on the 459km - 422km timed - from Calama to Iquique in Chile. The 48-year-old, who if successful in 2014 will make it six wins in the car category to equal the number he won on two wheels - shaved more than 11min off overall leader Nani Roma's advantage with his win.


He is now just more than 12min behind with the race finishing on Saturday.

Peterhansel, who had a wretched start to the rally, but has surged back into contention with his 4h17min53 stage time. Roma, meanwhile, was third and more than11 minutes slower. He was winner of the motorcycling event in 2004 and runner-up in 2012 so will be keen to re-establish his authority on Wednesday.

Earlier, Spanish rider Marc Coma moved a step closer to a fourth Dakar Rally motorcycling crown with a stage victory. The 37-year-old brought his KTM home in 4h49min05, more than a minute ahead of compatriot Joan Barreda who was runner-up for the second successive day.

Monday's stage winner, France's five-times overall winner Cyril Despres, was third and five minutes behind.

Coma leads Barreda by 40min19s in the overall standings while another Spaniard, Jordi Viladoms, is third but more than 90 minutes back.
Wednesday's Stage 10 will test all the competitors with a 631km timed section.


Results from Stage 9 of the 2014 Dakar Rally, 459km (422km timed), from Calama to Iquique in Chile:
1 Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) 4hr17min 53
2 Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT/Mini) +2min 17
3 Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) +11min36
4 Orlando Terranova (ARG/Mini) +14min14
5 Giniel De Villiers (RSA/Toyota) +22min57
6 Adam Malysz (POL/Toyota) +41min33
7 Krzysztof Holowczyc (POL/Mini) +42min17
8 Federico Villagra (ARG/Mini) +43min04
9 Vladimir Vasilyev (RUS/Mini) +44min59
10 Marek Dabrowski (POL/Toyota) +45min15

1 Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) 34hr15min 37
2 Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) +12min 10
3 Orlando Terranova (ARG/Mini) +54min33
4 Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT/Mini) +59min46
5 Giniel De Villiers (RSA/GER/Toyota) +59min46
6 Krzysztof Holowczyc (POL/Mini) +3hr00min03
7 Marek Dabrowski (POL/Toyota) +3hr20min47
8 Adam Malysz (POL/Toyota) +3hr57min32
9 Guilherme Spinelli (BRA/Mitsubishi) +4hr45min04
10 Martin Kaczmarski (POL/Mini) +4hr54min33

1. Marc Coma (ESP/KTM) 4hr49min 05
2 Joan Barreda (ESP/Honda) +1min 41
3 Cyril Despres (FRA/Yamaha) +5min28
4 Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/Sherco) +8min43
5 Stefan Svitko (SVK/KTM) +9min42
6 Jordi Viladoms (ESP/KTM) +11min23
7 Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +11min44
8 Ivan Jakes (SVK/KTM) +13min40
9 Laia Sanz (ESP/Honda) +14min34
10 Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHI/Speedbrain) +15min01

1 Marc Coma (ESP/KTM) 36hr55min24
2 Joan Barreda (ESP/Honda) +40min 19
3 Jordi Viladoms (ESP/KTM) +1hr38min45
4 Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHI/Speedbrain) +2hr07min06
5 Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) +2hr16min10
6 Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +2hr24min25
7 Kuba Przygonski (POL/KTM) +2hr25min16
8 Cyril Despres (FRA/Yamaha) +2hr29min56
9 Daniel Gouet (CHI/Honda) +2hr57min42
10 Stefan Svitko (SVK/KTM) +3hr29min02

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.