New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Dakar; Sainz wins 7, Roma keeps lead

2014-01-13 06:45

CARLOS SAINZ AT SPEED IN HIS SMG: After a rest day, Spain's Carlos Sainz came back to win Stage 7 on Sunday. Image: AFP

UYUNI, Bolivia - Carlos Sainz of Spain won Stage 7 of the 2014 Dakar Rally on Sunday but countryman Nani Roma maintained a large lead in the overall standings for cars.

The car division drove a 500km loop near Salta, Argentina, and Sainz took advantage of a speedy  special suited to his buggy to lead for the entire day and win his second stage of the race and 27th in his Dakar history.

Image gallery: 2014 Dakar - Stage 1 - 7

He was followed in rapid succession by Nasser al-Attiyah of Qatar, defending champion Stephane Peterhansel of France, and Roma.


Roma took the overall lead on Thursday and intends to become only the third man to win the Dakar both on a motorbike (2004) and in a car.

Peterhansel, second overall, had to slow for herds of llamas and could only cut his deficit to Roma by two minutes to be 32min behind. Third-placed Giniel de Villiers, the 2009 winner and runner-up in 2013,

Peterhansel, second overall, had to slow for herds of llama and could only cut his deficit to Roma by two minutes to be 32min behind. Third-placed Giniel de Villiers, the 2009 winner and runner-up in 2013 year, had  a puncture and finished eighth on the stage, 48 minutes off the pace.


The motorbikes took the Dakar into Bolivia for the first time but heavy rain on Saturday forced organizers to lop 300km of muddy track off the special, leaving only a 100km race to the edge of the Salar de Uyuni, the world's largest and highest salt flats at 3600m.

Bolivia's president, Evo Morales, was on hand to greet stage winner Joan Barreda Bort of Spain, his third win of the race and eighth in his career.

Barreda's compatriot Marc Coma was second and remained the overall leader, 38min ahead of Barreda, the  
only rider within an hour of Coma.

The biggest loser was Alain Duclos of France, Stage 6 winner, who got lost early on the day and took 20 minutes to find his way. He fell more than an hour behind Coma overall and dropped from third to fourth.

On Monday, cars and motorbikes face another speedy leg into Calama, Chile.

US - Stage 7 - Car/Bike - Stage Summary... by Dakar

Results of Sunday's Dakar Rally seventh stage:

401km timed between Salta (Argentina) and Uyuni (Bolivia)
1 Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 3hr28min41sec
2 Marc Coma (ESP/KTM) +4min03
3 Cyril Despres (FRA/Yamaha) +5min35
4 Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/Sherco) +6min57
5 Kuba Przygonski (POL/KTM) +8min56
6 Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHI/Speedbrain) +10min04
7 Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +10min57
8 Mário Patrão (POR/Suzuki) +11min27
9 Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) +11min37
10 Jordi Viladoms (ESP/KTM) +11min57

1 Marc Coma (ESP/KTM) 26hr 40min 44
2 Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) +38min14
3 Jordi Viladoms (ESP/KTM) +1h 16min03
4 Alain Duclos (FRA/Sherco) +1h 16min35
5 Jeremias Israel Esquerre (CHI/Speedbrain) +1h 39min29
6 Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) +1h 50min42
7 Kuba Przygonski (POL/KTM) +1h 54min52
8 Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +2h 08min18,
9 David Casteu (FRA/KTM) +2h 23min50
10 Cyril Despres (FRA/Yamaha) +2h 26min13

533km timed around Salta (Argentina)
1 Carlos Sainz (ESP/SMG) 4hr43min28
2 Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT/Mini) +4min24
3 Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) +7min04
4 Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) +8min56
5 Krzysztof Holowczyc (POL/Mini) +10min51
6 Federico Villagra (ARG/Mini) +12min54
7 Vladimir Vasilyev (RUS/Mini) +15min58
8 Giniel De Villiers (RSA/Toyota) +16min25
9 Orlando Terranova (ARG/Mini) +18min00
10 Bernhard Ten Brinke (NED/Hrx) +20min04

1 Nani Roma (ESP/Mini) 27hr03min52
2 Stephane Peterhansel (FRA/Mini) +31min31
3 Giniel De Villiers (RSA/Toyota) +48min23
4 Orlando Terranova (ARG/Mini) +54min34
5 Nasser Al-Attiyah (QAT/Mini) +1hr18min03
6 Carlos Sainz (ESP/Smg) +1hr50min42
7 Krzysztof Holowczyc (POL/Mini) +2hr30min52
8 Federico Villagra/ (ARG/Mini) +2hr52min57
9 Christian Lavieille (FRA/Haval) +3hr07min06
10 Martin Kaczmarski (POL/Mini) +4hr06min19

Bookmark Wheels24's special Dakar Rally section to keep up with event news and results.
Read more on:    argentina  |  bolivia  |  2014 dakar rally

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.