New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Dakar: SA's Giniel 2nd on Stage 5

2014-01-10 04:45

GINIEL CHASING ROMA: South African Toyota driver Giniel de Villiers takes out some desert bush during Stage 5 of the 2014 Dakar between Chilecito and Tucuman, Argentina. They finished the day second behind Nani Roma. Image: AFP

SAN MIGUEL DE TUCUMAN, Argentina - Spanish driver Nani Roma reclaimed the Dakar Rally lead on Thursday as compatriot Marc Coma soared to the top of the motorcycling standings.

That was after a brutal Stage 5 which saw temperatures close to 40 degrees – but at least this year the teams have been allowed aircon in their vehicles.

Roma, behind the wheel of a Mini, had led after three stages. He reasserted his authority on the gruelling 912km run from Chilecito to San Miguel de Tucuman on Thursday (Jan 9 2014).


Roma clocked 4hr27min01 on the 527km timed section of the stage with South Africa's Giniel de Villiers (Toyota Hilux) second and only 4min20 back on the stage and America's Robby Gordon (Hummer) who is third. In the overall standings, Roma now has a lead of 26min28 on 2011 winner and Mini team mate, Nasser al-Attiyah of Qatar.

De Villiers is fifth overall in the race.

Roma said later: "I'm happy with the day but it was hard, probably one of the hardest stages I've ever driven. We tried to do our best and to just get through it. We got stuck in the sand a bit, but only lost 10 minutes. The others had bigger problems."

Carlos Sainz, 2010 champion who had led on Wednesday, slumped to sixth and almost an hour behind Roma after a nightmare day during which the Spanish veteran endured a number of navigational errors.

"First we had a problem to find the way point. We couldn't find it. We need to check now what has happened because I think we had been passing really, really close," said the Spaniard. "Then, as we were going up and down trying to find it, we had a problem with the car.

“We had to stop - one of the electrical connections was coming out."

Al-Attiyah added: "From the navigation side of things it was very tough. What can we do? We lost a lot of minutes but we are here and we still have 10 days left. We'll try to do our best. We must really push a lot now. We'll see."


The motorcycling section of the race was shortened as the heat was deemed to be close to danger levels for the riders. Former champion Coma (KTM) was declared the stage winner in a time of 3hr02min08, with fellow Spaniard Jordi Viladoms second and Kuba Przygonski of Poland third.

"It was another tough day,” Coma said. “It was really hot out there. It was also difficult in terms of navigation because of rain the previous week which makes it difficult to see anything.

"To get to the end of the stage I rode for 10km lost in a river bed. In general, it's tough for everyone. For the race lead, you can lose lots of time at any moment. When you open the way, it's a bit like playing Russian roulette."

In the overall standings, Coma has a 41min10 lead on Honda's Joan Barreda, the previous leader.

Dakar Rally results after Thursday's Stage 5, a 527km timed run from Chilecito to Tucuman

1 Nani Roma/Michel Prin (ESP/FRA/Mini) 4hr27min01
2 Giniel de Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 4min20
3 Robby Gordon/Kellon Walch (USA/USA/Hummer) 20min12
4 Orlando Terranova/Paulo Fiuza (ARG/POR/Mini) 20min44
5 Nasser al-Attiyah/Lucas Cruz (QAT/ESP/Mini) 21min38
6 Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Mini) 23min55
7 Lucio Alvarez/Bernardo Graue (ARG/ARG/Ford) 25min45
8 Adam Malysz/Rafal Marton (POL/POL/Toyota) 27min18
9 Marek Dabrowski/Jacek Czachor (POL/POL/Toyota) 29min20
10 Federico Villagra/Jorge Perez Companc (ARG/ARG/Mini) 57min36

Overall (after five stages)
1 Nani Roma/Michel Prin (ESP/FRA/Mini) 19hr21min54
2 Nasser Al-attiyah/Lucas Cruz (QAT/ESP/Mini) 26min28
3 Orlando Terranova/Paulo Fiuza (ARG/POR/Mini) 31min46
4 Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Mini) 39min59
5 Giniel de Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 41min24
6 Carlos Sainz/Timo Gttschalk (ESP/GER/Smg) 59min43
7 Federico Villagra/Jorge Perez Companc (ARG/ARG/Mini) 1hr42min42
8 Marek Dabrowski/Jacek Czachor (POL/POL/Toyota) 1hr45min58
9 Adam Malysz/Rafal Marton (POL/POL/Toyota) 2hr31min56
10 Robby Gordon/Kellon Walch (USA/USA/Hummer) 4hr34min29

1 Marc Coma (ESP/KTM) 3hr02min08
2 Jordi Viladoms (ESP/KTM) +12min54
3 Kuba Przygonski (POL/KTM) +22min45
4 Helder Rodrigues (POR/Honda) +25min53
5 Riaan Van Niekerk (RSA/KTM) +32min04
6 Juan Carlos Salvatierra (BOL/Speedbrain) +33min12
7 Juan Pedrero (ESP/Sherco) +34min03
8 Stefan Svitko (SVK/KTM) +36min38
9 Robert Van Pelt (NED/Honda) +37min04
10 Daniel Gouet (CHI/Honda) +37min53

Overall standings (after five stages) (amended with penalties)
1 Nani Roma/Michel Prin (ESP/FRA/Mini) 19hr21min54
2 Orlando Terranova/Paulo Fiuza (ARG/POR/Mini) 31min46
3 Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Mini) 39min59
4 Giniel de Villiers/Dirk von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 41min24
5 Nasser Al-Attiyah/Lucas Cruz (QAT/ESP/Mini) 26min28 (penalty 1hr)
6 Lavieille/Garcin (FRA/FRA/Haval) 21hr03min44 +1hr41min50
7 Marek Dabrowski/Jacek Czachor (POL/POL/Toyota) 21hr07min52 +01h45min58
8 Sainz/Gottschalk (ESP/DEU/SMG 21hr21min37 01hr59min33 (penalty 1hr)
9 Thomassa/Larroque (FRA/FRA Buggy MD Rallye) 21hr34min04 +2hr12min10
10 Holowczyc / Zhiltsov (RUS/RUS/Mini ) 21h44min53 +2hr22min59

US - Stage 5 - Car/Bike - Stage Summary... by Dakar 

Bookmark Wheels24's special Dakar Rally section to keep up with event news and results.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.