WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

Cape racers dominate at Killarney

2014-04-29 10:37


STAR OF THE SHOW: Aidan Strydom won both the 60cc Mini Rok and Maxterino classes during round two of the 2014 SA Kart National Championship at the Killarney race circuit in Cape Town. Image: Heinrich Sauer

Cape Town drivers enjoyed a superb performance on home ground by dominating the second round of the 2014 SA Kart National championship at the Killarney race circuit on Saturday (April 26).

Aidan Strydom was the star of the show, delivering two dominant performances to win the primary school 60cc Mini Rok and Maxterino classes.

GALLERY: Round 2 of the SA Kart National championship

Private entry Strydom, driving a chassis prepared by dad Wynand, drove a Zanardi to Maxterino victory with two  wins ahead of fellow Capetonians Jason Coetzee (Zanardi), JP Hamman (Kosmic) and double winner Charl Visser (Zanardi).


Johannesburg karter Dillon van Vuuren (Kosmic) interrupted the Cape domination in fifth ahead of another Cape driver, Joseph Oelz (CRG). Capetonian Dario Busi won the final race.
Even though the class is not raced at Regional level in the Cape, Strydom also grabbed a Mini Rok victory, this time aboard a Top Kart ahead of fellow Capetonian Hamman (Kosmic) who bounced back from a dreadful qualifying.

Zanardi drivers Blaine Rademeyer/Jordan North  Dillon van Vuuren (Kosmic) and Nemo Mazwai (Top Kart) completed the top six.

The Open age-group Max Challenge 125cc race turned out to be another Cape Town-dominated event as Zanardi driver Luke Herring won Races 2 and 3 to end the day five points ahead of opening race-winner Eugene Denyssen (TonyKart).

Julian van der Watt (Zanardi) pipped Jonathan Aberdein (TonyKart) and Hilton Peters (CRG) for third with Johannesburg’s Wesley Vosloo (TonyKart) completing the top six.

Kohen Bam (Kosmic) was another local ace in top form as he won all three high school Junior Max 125cc races to beatchampion Jordan Sherratt (Birel) and Clinton Bezuidenhout (Kosmic). Capetonians Delano Fowler (TonyKart) and Henry Bam (Kosmic) were fourth and fifth followed by Namibian Adriaan Nel (CRG).

Vereeniging’s Arnold Neveling (Zanardi) scored a hard-earned win in the DD2 category which saw 28 competitors. The Zanardi driver won the first and third races to beat second race-winner Ryan Frost (Birel). Third went to Benjamin Habig (TonyKart) ahead of Eugene Britz (CRG) and Bradley Liebenberg (Birel) a point behind.

Jonathan Thomas (Zanardi) rounded-off the top six and four-times World champion Cristiano Morgado took Masters honours in the only race without a Capetonian winner.

Jason Smith scored his best win yet by topping the Junior Rok pointsahead of Kashen Naicker (Zanardi). Naiker won the first two races but then succomed to mechanical failure.

Bloemfontein’s Stuart White (Zanardi) was third after recovering from a disastrous opening race while Pietermaritzburg’s Chayse Augustus claimed fourth ahead of Birel drivers Delon Thompson and Neha Harpal.
Zanardi driver Chassen Bright blitzed the Super Rok field in all three races to claim the overall win and set a new lap record in the process, followed by  Simon Moss and Keagan Masters.

SA Production Car champion Michael Stephen’s return to kart racing saw the him finish in fourth followed by Jason Hill and Maika Trzebiatowsky.
The invitation Cadet class (four to eight-year-olds) saw Cape Town youngster Troy Dolinschek grab two wins and Kyle Visser the last.
The third round of the 2014 SA National Karting championship will be at Idube in Natal in June.
Race results from Round 2 of the 2014 SA Kart National championship:

Mini Rok
1 Aidan Strydom
2 JP Hamman
3 Blaine Rademeyer
1 Aidan Strydom
2 Jason Coetzee
3 JP Hamman
Junior Rok
1 Jason Smith
2 Kashen Naicker
3 Stuart White
Rotax Junior
1 Kohen Bam  
2 Jordan Sherratt
3 Clinton Bezuidenhout
Rotax Max
1 Luke Herring
2 Eugene Denyssen
3 Julian van der Watt
1 Arnold Neveling
2 Ryan Frost
3 Benjamin Habig
Masters: Cristiano Morgado
Super Rok
1 Chassen Bright
2 Simon Moss
3 Keagan Masters
1 Troy Dolinschek
2 Kyle Visser
3 Joshua Garland

Read more on:    cape town  |  motorsport  |  racing

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.