WATCH: Celebrating the iconic GTR

Wheels24 contributor Ferdi De Vos takes a look at the history of the Nissan Skyline GT-R, Japan's most iconic performance car.

First Lamborghini Aventador SVJ now in SA

The first Lamborghini Aventador SVJ has just been shipped into SA for a cool R9 695 000 and it's absolutely breathtaking.

2015 Abu Dhabi GP: Rosberg fastest in final prac

2015-11-28 13:50

ROSBERG FASTEST AT ABU DHABI: Mercedes' Nico Rosberg is on fire and might just win a hat-trick of races at the 2015 Abu Dhabi GP finale on Sunday. Image: AP / Silvia Izquierdo

Abu Dhabi - Nico Rosberg topped the times ahead of his Mercedes team mate and world champion Lewis Hamilton in Saturday's (Nov 28) final free practice session ahead of this weekend's season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

The 30-year-old German, who is seeking to complete a winning hat-trick in Sunday's race, will bid to continue his current domination of the newly-crowned three-times champion by securing his sixth straight pole in qualifying later Saturday at the spectacular Yas Marina circuit.

6 races, no pole

Hamilton, who spun during a near-frantic effort to deliver a fastest lap, has not been on pole in any of the last six races since the Italian GP on September 6.

Rosberg clocked a best lap of one minute and 41.856 seconds to finish 0.281 seconds ahead of the Briton, whose results have faded since he clinched his third title at last month's United States GP.

Four-time champion Sebastian Vettel was third-fastest for Ferrari ahead of Mexican Sergio Perez of Force India, Finn Kimi Raikkonen in the second Ferrari and Australian Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull.

German Nico Hulkenberg was seventh in the second Force India ahead of Brazilian Felipe Massa, his Williams team-mate Finn Valtteri Bottas and Spaniard Carlos Sainz, who was 10th for Toro Rosso.

Russian Daniil Kvyat was unable to clock a flying lap time due to electrical problems with his Red Bull car.

Abu Dhabi 3rd practice results

1. Nico Rosberg (GER) Mercedes 1min41.856
2. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1min42.137
3. Sebastian Vettel (GER) Ferrari 1min42.185
4. Sergio Perez (MEX) Force India 1min42.448
5. Kimi Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari 1min42.627
6. Daniel Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull 1min42.726 
7. Nico Hulkenberg (GER) Force India 1min42.859
8. Felipe Massa (BRA) Williams 1min43.173
9. Valtteri Bottas (FIN) Williams 1min43.239
10. Carlos Sainz Jr (ESP) Toro Rosso 1min43.429
11. Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren 1min43.508 
12. Pastor Maldonado (VEN) Lotus 1min43.680 
13. Felipe Nasr (BRA) Sauber AG 1min43.718 
14. Max Verstappen (NED) Toro Rosso 1min43.826
15. Romain Grosjean (FRA) Lotus 1min43.928
16. Fernando Alonso (ESP) McLaren 1min44.014
17. Marcus Ericsson (SWE) Sauber AG 1min44.325
18. Will Stevens (GBR) Marussia 1min47.283 
19. Roberto Merhi (ESP) Marussia 1min47.520 
20. Daniil Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull

Read more on:    mercedes  |  nico rosberg  |  abu dhabi  |  motorsport  |  formula 1

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.