WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

2015 Canadian GP: Lewis leads Merc 1-2

2015-06-07 21:44

VICTORY IN MONTREAL: Lewis Hamilton dominated the 2015 Candadian GP to claim his fourth victory of the year. Image: Ryan Remiorz/ AP / The Canadian Press

MONTREAL, Canada - Lewis Hamilton put his Monaco misery behind him to lead a Mercedes one-two victory at the 2015 Canadian GP.

Hamilton dominated from pole position, his 44th pole position of the year, followed by team mate Nico Rosberg.

He grabbed his fourth victory in seven races at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in 2015 and fourth career win in Canada.


The two Mercedes started on the front row and were never threatened. Mercedes has won six of seven races in the Formula 1 in 2015.

With a win in Montreal he stretches his lead over Rosberg to 17 points and denied team mate a third win in a row.

It also made up for the disappointment of the 2015 Monaco GP in May when Hamilton, leading comfortably, lost out to Rosberg after a needless late pitstop.

Hamilton said: "Did I need this (after Monaco)? Yes, I think I did. I love Montreal, I love this track and love this city."


Williams' Valtteri Bottas had a fantastic race finishing in third followed by the Ferrari duo of Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel in fourth and fifth respectively.

Read: Lewis savours Canada win after Monaco fiasco

Bottas finished 40.6 sec behind Hamilton to become the first driver outside Mercedes or Ferrari to appear on the podium in 2015. 

Felipe Massa finished sixth in the second Williams after another strong drive ahead of Pastor Maldonado who completed his first race of the season in seventh for Lotus.

The Montreal race proved to be a disastrous event for McLaren. Jenson Button started in the pits lane after missing qualifying and collected a drive-through penalty.

Button, along with team mate Fernando Alonso, retired due to mechanical issues.

2015 Canadian Grand Prix at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve:

Race results
1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:31:53.145
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes +00:02.285
3 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 00:40.666
4 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 00:45.625
5 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 00:49.903
6 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 00:56.381
7 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus 01:06.664
8 Nico Hulkenberg (Germany) Force India 1 lap
9 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Red Bull 1 lap
10 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 1 lap
11 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 1 lap
12Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 1 lap
13 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 1 lap
14 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber 1 lap
15 Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso 1 lap
16 Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber 2 laps
17 Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia 4 laps
Retired Roberto Merhi (Spain) Marussia 13 laps
Ret. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 16 laps
Ret. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 26 laps
Fastest Lap: Kimi Raikkonen 1min16.987, lap 42.

Drivers' championship
1 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 151
2 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 134
3 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 108
4 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 72
5 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 57
6 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 47
7 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 35
8 Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Red Bull 19
9 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 17
10 Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber 16
11 Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 11
12 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 10
13 Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 9
14 Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Toro Rosso 6
15 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Lotus 6
16 Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber 5
17 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 4
18 Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 0
19 Roberto Merhi (Spain) Marussia 0
20 Will Stevens (Britain) Marussia 0

Constructors' championship

1 Mercedes 285
2 Ferrari 180
3 Williams-Mercedes 104
4 RedBull - Renault 54
5 Lotus - Mercedes 23
6 Sauber - Ferrari 21
7 Force India - Mercedes 21
8 Toro Rosso - Renault 15
9 McLaren 4
10 Marussia - Ferrari 0


Third Practice

Second practice

First practice

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2015 F1 season – fresh reports every day.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.