New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

Vettel claims F1 title No.4

2013-10-27 13:06

2013 F1 CHAMPION CROWNED: Sebastian Vettel claims his fourth F1 title after dominating the 2013 Indian GP. Image: AFP

GREATER NOIDA, India - Despite a chaotic start, Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel fought his way from the back of the grid to win a superb 2013 Indian Grand Prix and claim his fourth consecutive Formula 1 title.

Red Bull also secured the Constructors' Championship for the fourth year in a row.

Vettel's victory, his sixth in a row in 2013,  completed a hat-trick of wins in India where no other driver has won since the race made its debut in 2011.

Vettel became the fourth quadruple champion and only the third driver to win four titles in a row after seven-times champion Michael Schumacher and the late Juan Manuel Fangio.


Lap 10 - 20
A chaotic start to the 2013 Indian GP saw pole-starter Vettel and Ferrari's Fernando Alonso drop to the back of the grid while  Felipe Massa moved into first place. During the first lap, Red Bull's Mark Webber collided with Lotus' Kimi Rakkonen and Alonso. On turn four, Alonso shunted into McLaren's Jenson Button.

Many teams soon switched to soft tyres. Vettel managed to barge his way from 12th to 5th before held up in third by McLaren's Sergio Perez.

Lap 20 - 30
Perez held up Sebastian Vettel for much of the early portion of the race. Despite his lead, the McLaren rookie was told not to battle too hard against the Red Bull ace. On lap 22, Vettel used the DRS zone to overtake and pass Perez.

By lap 30, Webber retained his first place lead over team mate Vettel, while Perez held onto third. Ricciardo (in 4th) was ahead of Force India's Adrian Sutil and Massa. Alonso languished in 12th by lap 31.

Lap 30 - 40
During lap 33, Webber finally headed into the pits which allowed Vettel to move into first place. By lap 34, Vettel had a commanding 12.5sec lead over team mate Webber. The Red Bull ace was told over the radio: "You need your tyres for the whole stint, not just now." Alonso languished in 13th place on lap 37 and made his third stop of the race, switching back to medium tyres.


Lap 40 - 50

On lap 40 Webber suffered transmission woes and was forced to retire from the race. By lap 41, Vettel held a 13.5sec lead over closest rival Raikkonen. Webber's retirement, confirmed by technicians to be a fault with his car's alternator, allowed Rakkonen to swoop into second, followed by Mercedes' Nico Rosberg and Lotus' Romain Grosjean.

Lap 50 - 60
By lap 50 Vettel looked set to crowned the 2013 Formula 1 champion though Raikkonen and Rosberg were still giving chase. It's been a great race for Grosjean who battled his way up from 17th to challenge team mate Raikkonen for third place on lap 53. Vettel's lead was unassailable by lap 57 as the champ continues to lead followed by Rosberg and Grosjean. Raikkonen's race was marred by severe tyre degradation in the last ten laps, allowing Grosjean to take third.

2013 Indian Grand Prix at Buddh International Circuit: Race results

1 Sebastian Vettel (GER/Red Bull) 1hr 31min 12.187sec
2 Nico Rosberg (GER/Mercedes) at 29.823
3 Romain Grosjean (FRA/Lotus) at 39.892
4 Felipe Massa (BRA/Ferrari) at 41.692
5 Sergio Perez (MEX/McLaren ) at 43.829
6 Lewis Hamilton (GBR/Mercedes) at 52.475
7 Kimi Raikkonen (FIN/Lotus) at 1:07.988
8 Paul Di Resta (GBR/Force India) at 1:12.868
9 Adrian Sutil (GER/Force India) at 1:14.734
10 Daniel Ricciardo (AUS/Toro Rosso) at 1:16.237
11 Fernando Alonso (ESP/Ferrari) at 1:18.297
12 Pastor Maldonado (VEN/Williams) at 1:18.951
13 Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/Toro Rosso) 1 lap
14 Jenson Button (GBR/McLaren) 1 lap
15 Esteban Gutierrez (MEX/Sauber) 1 lap
16 Valtteri Bottas (FIN/Williams) 1 lap
17 Max Chilton (GBR/Marussia) 2 laps
18 Jules Bianchi (FRA/Marussia) 2 laps
19 Nico Hulkenberg (GER/Sauber) 6 laps

Driver and Constructor standings:

Drivers' Points

1 Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Red Bull 322
2 Fernando Alonso (Spain) Ferrari 207
3 Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Lotus 183
4 Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 169
5 Mark Webber (Australia) Red Bull 148
6 Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 144
7 Romain Grosjean (France) Lotus 102
8 Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 102
9 Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 60
10 Paul Di Resta (Britain) Force India 40
11 Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Sauber 39
12 Sergio Perez (Mexico) McLaren 33
13 Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India 28
14 Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Toro Rosso 19
15 Jean-Eric Vergne (France) Toro Rosso 13
16 Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Sauber 6
17 Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela) Williams 1
18 Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 0
19 Jules Bianchi (France) Marussia 0
20 Charles Pic (France) Caterham 0
21 Giedo van der Garde (Netherlands) Caterham 0
22 Max Chilton (Britain) Marussia 0

Constructors' points

1 Red Bull 470
2 Mercedes 313
3 Ferrari 309
4 Lotus 285
5 McLaren 93
6 Force India 68
7 Sauber 45
8 Toro Rosso 32
9. Williams 1
10 Marussia 0
11 Caterham 0


Third practice
Second practice
First practice

Stay with Wheels24 for the 2013 Indian GP weekend

Read more on:    red bull  |  sebastian vettel  |  f1  |  motorsport  |  formula 1

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.