New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

Suzuki’s new Swift hatch and sedan in SA

Suzuki kicks off its new model assault with an all new Swift hatchback and standalone sedan called the Dzire.

2006 Car of the Year announced

2006-03-15 06:57

The A3 Sportback 2.0 T FSI is SA's latest Car of Year winner

And the winner of the competition is the Audi A3 Sportback 2.0 T FSI.

The announcement was made late on Tuesday in Johannesburg at a function attended by motor industry executives, dealers, and, of course, the judges and other members of the Guild.

This is the third time in the competition's 21 year history that Audi has won the competition.

The Car of the Year competition is sponsored by Wesbank and the South African Guild of Motoring Journalists decides on the winner.

The finalists were:
  • VW Passat 2.0 TDi
  • BMW 320d
  • Citroen C4 1.6 HDi
  • Ford Focus 2.0 TDCi 5dr
  • Toyota Yaris T3 Spirit
  • Nissan Murano
  • Audi A3 Sportback 2.0T FSI
  • Kia Rio Hatch 1.4 High Spec

    There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.