PICS: The best Porsche Cayenne S yet

The Porsche Cayenne S is one of the finalists in the 2019 SA Car of the Year competition. Warren Wilson grabs some images of the beautiful SUV. Take a look...

What's in a name? Audi launches new model designations

2017-08-24 07:33

Image: Newspress

 • New designations for global models
 • Clearly defined hierarchy in each series
 • Audi A8 the first model with new designation

Ingolstadt – Audi is adopting a standardised nomenclature for power output designations, set to apply to all its models.

The names of the model series – from Audi A1 to Q7 – will remain unchanged. Within the model families, combinations of two numbers will replace the various type designations previously used.

Why the change? Audi says: "The new designations stand for the specific power output and apply both to cars with combustion engines and to e-tron models with hybrid and electric drives."

"The reference value for the new model designations is the power output of the individual model in kilowatts (kW). Audi is therefore creating sub-classifications within the range based on performance levels, each identified by a two-numeral combination."

Image: Newspress

How it works:

For example - the numeral combination '30' will appear on the rear of all models with power outputs of between 81 and 96kW while '45' represents power outputs of between 169kW and 185kW. In each case the numerals appear along with the engine technology indicator – TFSI, TDI, g-tron or e-tron.

Audi says: "The number combinations increase in increments of five, and they represent the hierarchy within both the respective model series and the brand’s overall model range."

According to the new nomenclature, the spectrum will initially range from the Audi A1 25 TFSI with 70kW to the A8 55 TFSI with 250kW. A special place in the line-up is occupied by the high-end, high-performance S and RS models and the R8.

They will retain their classic names in reference to their top position in the automaker's line-up.

Next-gen A8 - first to sport new nomenclature

Image: Newspress

The changes will kick off with the new A8 generation, set to be released later in 2017. First among the two six-cylinder engines to be re-designated will be the 3.0 TDI with 210kW – as the A8 50 TDI, and the 3.0 TFSI with 250kW – as the A8 55 TFSI.

In the coming months, all Audis launched will be assigned the new performance designations. The automaker says it will change the designations of its current models in time for the new model year in 2018.

Dr. Dietmar Voggenreiter, board of management member for sales and marketing at Audi: "As alternative drive technologies become increasingly relevant, engine displacement as a performance attribute is becoming less important to our customers. The clarity and logic of structuring the designations according to power output makes it possible to distinguish between the various performance levels."

Read more on:    audi  |  germany  |  new models  |  r8  |  hot hatch  |  wild on wheels

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.