VW continues to invest in the future of motorsport in SA

Volkswagen has established a specialised Motorsport Academy to invest in the future of motorsport locally.

Local racing is 'lekker' but why the disinterest?

'The lack of interest in local motorsport has seen the sport dwindle down from what it once was', writes Charlen Raymond.

Jason Webb wins another Supa Drift battle in Nelson Mandela Bay

2017-08-01 10:44

Image: Supplied/Grant Mclachlan

Port Elizabeth - Nelson Mandela Bay's Aldo Scribante Race Circuit bore witness to the tyre smoking, sideways action that was Supa Drift 4. 
South Africa’s top drifters gathered to compete for the top spot in this 4th round event of the National Supa Drift Series, valuable points in the race for the overall championship.
Known to be the fastest circuit on the calendar, Aldo Scribante was always going to be a challenge for the drivers. It makes for exciting high speed drift battles and this weekend’s racing was no exception.

The field of drivers was slightly smaller than other stops of the series, but there was no shortage of talent with Jason Webb, Paolo Gouveia, J Mc Farlane and Eric van Eyssen, all bringing their A game to keep their championship hopes alive.

                                                      Image:Grant Mclachlan

After a full day of practice on Friday, the drivers and looked like they had most of their lines and angles dialed in for a full day of qualifying and tandem battles on Saturday’s Race Day.   

                                                               Image: Grant Mclachlan

Coming off his massive win at SDO3, Monster Energy’s Jason Webb wasted no time and laid down some blisteringly fast qualifying runs. His entry speeds of just under 150km/h and massive angle impressed the judges enough to award him the top spot in qualifying round.  
Eric “the Viking” showed us why he’s one of the most exciting things to happen to drifting in Southern Africa and he had the crowd on their feet with his “smoked out” 2nd place run!  
Webb, after his 1st place qualifying run, said: "Aldo Scribante is the fastest track on the Supa Drift calendar and my personal favourite track.   It really tests you as a driver and with initiation speeds of 150km/h, you really have to be on point!  It’s the most amazing feeling to throw you car sideways at 150km/h with your foot flat – It felt so good in my Roush Mustang and can’t wait for the battles.”


                                                        Image: Grant Mclachlan

With the top 16 drivers qualified, it was on to the tandem battles! The battles were heated from the start with a massive Round 2 battle between series’ leaders, Jim Mac Farlane and Paulo G. 

After some fierce chases and follow runs, it was Jim and his Achilles V8 350Z  that went through, leaving Paolo Gouveia knocked out of the competition a lot earlier than he had planned, Jim taking over his top spot in the championship points race.  
Armand Bronkhorst put down some exciting runs in his V8 Mazda RX7 earning him the popular title of “Driver of the Day”.


                                                                   Image: Grant Mclachlan

In the end, it was the talented KZN boy, Gaven Puren who faced up against Cape Town’s Jason Webb in the finals. The battle was fierce but it was Webb’s speed and impeccable use of line choice that got him the top spot, making this a second back to back wins in as many events for him.  

Webb said: "A massive thanks to my sponsors and my team - my dad, “Speedy”, and Malcom. They have made some custom changes to the suspension set up and the angle kits to adapt to this super fast track.

"To be honest, I’m not sure that the car could feel any better! It was just so easy to place and hold my lines at high speed. We got up to over 700 BHP. The Roush engine feels great and puts down the power at any time! It’s really just the dream car!” 
With this second win and change around in the over all points it looks like it could be anyone’s championship as Supa Drift moves into the final 2 stops of the race season! 

1 Jason Webb
2 Gavin Puren 
3 Jim Mc Farlane 
4 Brendan Puren 
5 Eric Van Eyssen 
Driver of the day – Armand Bronkhort 

Read more on:    port elizaberth  |  drifting  |  motorsport

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.