WesBank Super Series wrap

2011-10-03 08:51

The SA Superbikes and Production Cars produced nail-biting racing for Round 7 of the WesBank Super Series, held at Killarney in Cape Town on Saturday.

Both heats saw local hero Dave McFadden (Kawasaki) achieve final-lap victory to edge out Clint Seller (Honda) - the second race by the smallest of margin.

McFadden's wins allowed him to overturn a six-point deficit at the top of the championship. Veteran rider Lance Isaacs (Honda) and Dean Vos (Kawasaki) shared the podium.

On the Superbike front, defending champion and current championship leader Greg Gildenhuys (BMW) scored a double victory to tighten his grip on the 2011 title. In both heats Gildenhuys, a notoriously slow starter, had to power his way from behind Chris Leeson (Kawasaki) and then James Egan (another BMW).


The four races that made up the Bridgestone Production CarcChampionship produced plenty of action but hometown favourite and Class A championship leader Johan Fourie failed to win. Two second and two third places did, however, consolidate his championship lead. The Engen Xtreme Team protested the race results of the previous meeting in East London and this might alter the standings.

Class A honours went to the BMW squad with Melvill Priest and Anthony Taylor making up for recent disappointments. Priest and Taylor took three wins between them; Michael Stephen (Audi S4) too the other. Stephen also placed third twice with Hennie Groenewald (Subaru) making a lone visit to the podium.

Reigning Class T champion Graeme Nathan (Golf 6) arrived at Killarney trailing former champion Gary Formato (Ford Focus) by seven points, but managed three wins. Nathan’s hopes of emulating Formato’s four out of four wins at Aldo Scribante ended in the final race when technical issues forced him to limp home sixth.

Andrea Bate achieved a podium victory during her debut for Bridgestone.


Only four points separated Super GT championship leader Jimmy Auby, reigning champion Brandon Auby and veterans Ben Morgenrood and Franco di Matteo in the WesBank V8 Supercars.

The Auby brothers (Ford Falcon) shared wins and seconds with Matteo (Jaguar) while Morgenrood (Falcon) sharing thirds. Unofficial scoring now sees Jimmy Auby (148) leading his brother by two points with Matteo (136) and Morgenrood (135) still very much in the hunt.


A dramatic turnaround in the GT Class saw Larrry Wilford bounce back into the championship fight. With championship leader Des Gutzeit (Falcon) having a miserable day, Wilford achieved a win and a second. Gutzeit had technical woes and finished the day without a point and ruined his 100% finish record.

Wilford and Patrick Seddon (Lumina) shared first and second; Steve Herbst took two thirds in his Corvette.


Jayde Kruger drove his way to two victories during the Formula VW championship races.

Championship leader Robert Wolk had a disappointing third in race one, finishing behind reigning champion Simon Moss, and crashed during the second race. Moss was second in race one but during the second race finished fifth behind team mate Daniel Rowe.

Ernie van der Walt was second in race two and scored his best result of the season sharing the podium with Tasmin Pepper.


James Temple (GWM) achieved two wins in two closely contested Formula Midas 1600 races. Despite his wins, Temple remains behind Mathew Merton (Mygale), who achieved two seconds and retains his championship lead.

Jason Campos (Mygale) and Nicholas van Weely (Van Diemen) each achieved third-step podiums. Campos followed Temple and Merton home in race one with Weely third in the second race.


Kosie Weyers and championship leader Devin Robertson shared wins in two entertaining Engen VW Cup races. Championship leader Lee Thompson and Dean Ball shared honours in the Masters category for drivers over the age of 27.