VW continues to invest in the future of motorsport in SA

Volkswagen has established a specialised Motorsport Academy to invest in the future of motorsport locally.

Local racing is 'lekker' but why the disinterest?

'The lack of interest in local motorsport has seen the sport dwindle down from what it once was', writes Charlen Raymond.

WRC: Ogier wins season opener in Monte Carlo

2018-01-28 21:11

Image: AP

Monte Carlo - World champion Sebastien Ogier secured victory in the season-opening Monte Carlo Rally on Sunday, the fifth year in a row he has won the event.

The five-time defending world champion, driving an M-Sport Ford Fiesta, had been in front since the opening special stage on Thursday evening.

He finished in front of the Toyotas of Estonia's Ott Tanak and Finland's Jari-Matti Latvala to become the first driver to win in Monte Carlo five years in succession.

With his sixth Monte Carlo victory, Ogier closed in on the record of seven held by Frenchman Sebastien Loeb and started the season in the best possible way.

Ogier began the final day with a 33.5sec cushion over the Estonian, but had no trouble managing his lead on Sunday as he won the opening stage of the day and Tanak opted for caution.

Briton Kris Meeke (Citroen) climbed to fourth by recording the best time in the 17th leg, the Power Stage (No. 17).

Final standings:

1. Sebastien Ogier-Julien Ingrassia (FRA/Ford Fiesta) 4hr 18min 55.5sec
2. Ott Tanak-Martin Jarveoja (EST/Toyota Yaris) at 58.3sec 
3. Jari-Matti Latvala-Miikka Anttila (FIN/Toyota Yaris) 1:52.0 
4. Kris Meeke-Paul Nagle (GBR-IRL/Citroen C3) 4:43.1 
5. Thierry Neuville-Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL/Hyundai i20) 4:53.8 
6. Elfyn Evans-Daniel Barritt (GBR/Ford Fiesta) 04:54.8 
7. Esapekka Lappi-Janne Ferm (FIN/Toyota Yaris) 4:57.5
8. Bryan Bouffier-Xavier Panseri (FRA/Ford Fiesta) 7:39.5 
9. Craig Breen-Scott Martin (IRL-GBR/Citron C3) 9:06.7 
10. Jan Kopecky-Pavel Dresler (CZE/Skoda Fabia R5) 16:43.0.

Stage winners: Ogier 4 (SS1, SS2, SS4, SS14), Tanak 4 (SS3, SS6, SS10, SS11), Evans 2 (SS5, SS7), Neuville 5 (SS8, SS12, SS13, SS15, SS16), Mikkelsen 1 (SS9), Meeke 1 (SS17)


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.