Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

WRC: Ogier wins in Portugal

2014-04-07 11:00


DEFENDING THE LEAD: Sebastien Ogier (inset, right) and co-pilot Julien Ingrassia celebrate on their Volkswagen Polo R WRC in Faro, Southern Portugal, on April 6 after winning the 2014 Rally of Portugal . Image: AFP/ Francisco Leong

FARO, Portugal - France's Sebastien Ogier is leading his Volkswagen team in leaps and bounds after he won the Rally of Portugal for the fourth time in five years on Sunday.

He beat Finland's Mikko Hirvonen, driving a Ford, by 43.2sec with Norwegian Mads Ostberg third for Citroen.


Ogier, the reigning champion, leads the standings by 29 points after four of the 13 2014 rallies and Volkswagen's eighth win in a row - matching Citroen's 2011 record.

Ogier, who took the lead on Saturday (April 5) morning and never relinquished it, said: "Portugal is a place I love to drive and now I have four wins from five starts in a world rally car here.

"I had a good battle with Mikko for a big part of the rally and I had good tyre management on every stage yesterday afternoon (April 4) and that made the difference."

Norway's Andreas Mikkelsen was fourth in another VW.

The next rally will be in Argentina over May 8-11.

Result from the Rally of Portugal on Sunday
1 Sebastien Ogier (France) Volkswagen 3hr24min38.7
2 Mikko Hirvonen (Finland) Ford +0min35.4
3 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Citroen +1min08.1
4 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) Volkswagen +4min40.5
5 Henning Solberg (Norway) Ford +4min49.2
6 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Hyundai +7min40.0
7 Martin Prokop (Czech Republic) Ford +8min01.1
8 Juho Haenninen (Finland) Hyundai +8min28.1
9 Nasser al-Attiyah (Qatar) Ford +9min49.7
10 Jari Ketomaa (Finland) Ford +10min00.

WRC Teams' Standings
1 Volkswagen Motorsport - 144
2 Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 75
3 M-Sport World Rally Team - 60
4 Hyundai Shell World Rally Team - 45
5 Volkswagen Motorsport II - 40
6 Jipocar Czech National Team - 20
7 RK M-Sport World Rally Team - 4
Read more on:    volkswagen  |  sebastien ogier  |  portugal  |  rally  |  motorsport

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.