WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Liebenberg victorious at endurance series

South Africa's Bradley Liebenberg impressed on his international endurance race debut at the Dubai Autodrome.

Ogier snatches Rally Sweden victory

2015-02-15 19:06

WHEELS DOWN: Finns Jari Ketomaa and Kaj Lindstrom get lift-off in their Ford Fiesta R5 during the 2015 Rally of Sweden in Hagfors on February 15. Image: AP / Micke Fransson


STOCKHOLM, Sweden - Sebastien Ogier maintained his impressive start to the 2015 World Rally championship season by coming out on top from a thrilling three-car battle to win the Rally of Sweden on Sunday (Feb 15).

Double World champion Ogier, who won the season-opening Monte Carlo Rally, trailed Belgium's Thierry Neuville and fellow Volkswagen Polo R driver Andreas Mikkelsen going into Sunday's action but the Frenchman drove superbly to take the victory.

Hyundai i20 driver Neuville suffered with intercom problems on the day's first special stage and lost time when he drove into a snowbank. He ended up 6.4sec behind Ogier; Norway's Mikkelsen was third.


Mikkelsen looked to be heading for victory in the final stage before clipping a bank and losing nearly 43sec.

Frenchman Ogier, hunting for a third consecutive global crown, held his nerve to take the victory and claim a 23-point lead over both Neuville and Mikkelsen.

The third rally of the season will be in Mexico over March 5-8

Result from the 2015 Rally of Sweden on Sunday Feb 15

1 Sebastien Ogier (France) VW 2hr55min30.5
2 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Hyundai +6.4sec
3 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) VW +39.8
4 Ott Taenak (Estonia) Ford +2min26.0
5 Hayden Paddon (New Zealand) Hyundai +3min31.5
6 Elfyn Evans (Britain) Ford +3min53.0
7 Kris Meeke (Britain) Citroen +4min05.8
8 Martin Prokop (Czech Republic) Ford +4min26.0
9 Yuriy Protasov (Ukraine) Citroen +5min32.2
10 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Citroen +6min50.9

Drivers' and Constructors' points after the 2015 Rally of Sweden on Sunday Feb 15
1 Sebastien Ogier (France) VW Motorsport - 53
2 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) VW Motorsport II - 30
3 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Hyundai Shell World Rally Team - 30
4 Jari-Matti Latvala (Finland) VW Motorsport - 19
5 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 14
6 Elfyn Evans (Britain) M-Sport World Rally Team - 14
7 Ott Taenak (Estonia) Mitsubishi - 12
8 Hayden Paddon (New Zealand) Hyundai Motorsport N - 10
9 Kris Meeke (Britain) Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 10
10 Daniel Sordo (Spain) Hyundai Shell World Rally Team - 8
11 Sebastien Loeb (France) Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 6
12 Martin Prokop (Czech Republic) Jipocar Czech National Team 6
13 Yuriy Protasov (Ukraine) D-Max Racing - 2

1 VW Motorsport - 68
2 Hyundai Shell World Rally Team - 55
3 M-Sport World Rally Team - 32
4 Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 20
5 VW Motorsport II - 15
6 Jipocar Czech National Team - 10
7 FWRT - 1
8 Hyundai Motorsport N - 1

Read more on:    vw  |  ford  |  hyundai  |  citroen  |  sebastien ogier  |  wrc

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.