New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Ogier makes it a Rally Poland double

2015-07-06 09:34


FLYING FRENCHMAN: French VW Motorsport driver Sebastien Ogier (left) celebrates winning Round 7 of the 2015 World Rally championship in Poland. Image: AFP / Janek Skarzynski

WARSAW, Poland - World Rally champion Sebastien Ogier won the Rally of Poland for the second year in a row on Sunday (July 5) to take his winning tally for the season to five out of seven rounds.

The Frenchman, who beat Volkswagen team mate Andreas Mikkelsen by 11.9 seconds with Estonian Ott Tanak third in a Ford, now has a 78-point lead in the championship with six rounds remaining.

Ogier has 161 points to Mikkelsen's 83.


"This year I've had many great wins but this one is very special," Ogier told wrc.com. "I had to push from the first metre to the last."

Tanak had led briefly on Friday and fought a hard battle with Volkswagen's Jari-Matti Latvala until the Finn hit a tree on the final stage and collected a 40 second penalty for checking in late. All that dropped him to fifth.

New Zealander Hayden Paddon took fourth for Hyundai. The next round is in Finland from July 30 to August 2.

Ogier tweeted his thoughts after the victory:

Volkswagen motorsport tweeted a picture of Ogier's rally car covered in confetti after the win:

Result from the Rally of Poland on Sunday (July 5):

1 Sebastien Ogier (France) Volkswagen 2hr26min11.5
2 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) Volkswagen +11.9sec
3 Ott Taenak (Estonia) Ford +23.0sec
4 Hayden Paddon (New Zealand) Hyundai +1min14.6
5 Jari-Matti Latvala (Finland) Volkswagen +1min24.7
6 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Hyundai +1min44.5
7 Kris Meeke (Britain) Citroen +1min57.7
8 Robert Kubica (Poland) Ford +2min08.3
9 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Citroen +2min18.2
10 Daniel Sordo (Spain) Hyundai +2min48.4

Drivers’ and Constructors’ points after the 2015 Rally of Poland


1 Sebastien Ogier (France) Volkswagen Motorsport - 161
2 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) Volkswagen Motorsport II - 83
3 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 69
4 Jari-Matti Latvala (Finland) Volkswagen Motorsport - 66
5 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Hyundai Shell World Rally Team - 58
6 Kris Meeke (Britain) Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 53
7 Elfyn Evans (Britain) M-Sport World Rally Team - 53
8 Hayden Paddon (New Zealand) Hyundai Motorsport N - 44
9 Ott Taenak (Estonia) M-Sport World Rally Team - 40
10 Daniel Sordo (Spain) Hyundai Shell World Rally Team - 39


1 Volkswagen Motorsport - 214
2 Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 125
3 Hyundai Shell World Rally Team - 123
4 M-Sport World Rally Team - 114
5 Volkswagen Motorsport II - 49
6 Hyundai Motorsport N - 43
7 Jipocar Czech National Team - 35
8 FWRT - 3


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.