New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Ogier leads after 2015 Finland opener

2015-07-31 08:20

FIRST STAGE, FIRST WIN: French VW Polo R driver Sebastien Ogier and co-pilot Julien Ingrassia during the first special stage of the 2015 Rally of Finland in Jyvaskyla. Image: Vesa Moilanen / Lehtikuva via AP


Watch Finnish rally legend and head of Toyota's WRC team, Tommi Makinen, perform an awesome off-road test in Toyota 86 AWD rally car.

JYVSKYL, Finland - World Rally champion Sebastien Ogier topped the time charts on Thursday's (July 30 2015) opening stage of the Rally of Finland but less than a second covers the top three drivers.

The Frenchman led on the streets of Jyvaskyla, which had been made treacherous by heavy rain in the run-up to the start, by just 0.6sec in his Volkswagen Polo.

Kris Meeke was second in a Citroen DS 3 with Andreas Mikkelsen completing the top three, 0.8sec off the lead in another Polo.


"It's never easy in the street stages, so easy to make a small mistake," Ogier told www.wrc.com. "It was better to start at the back because the roads were drying minute by minute for each car.

"Friday will be a long day with two passes through the mythical Ouninpohja stage and no service, but the conditions are beautiful and the stages fantastic.

"I'm really looking forward to it."

2015 Rally of Finland standings after Thursday's first stage:

1 Sebastien Oier/Julien Ingrassia (FRA/VW Polo-R) 1min48.6
2 Kris Meeke /Paul Nagle (GBR/Citron DS3) +0.6sec
3 Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Floene (NOR/VW Polo-R) +0.8
4 Robert Kubica/Maciek Szczepaniak (POL/Ford Fiesta RS) +1.1
5 Jari-Matti Latvala/Mikka Anttila (FIN/Volkswagen Polo-R) +1.6
6 Mads Ostberg/Jonas Andersson (NOR-SWE/Citrominn DS3) +1.7
7 Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek (CZE/Ford Fiesta RS) +1.9
8 Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul (BEL/Hyundai i20) +2.6
9 Dani Sordo/Marc Marti (ESP/Hyundai i20) +3.0
10 Ott Tanak/Raigo Molder EST/Ford Fiesta RS) +3.9
Read more on:    vw  |  finland  |  world rally championship

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.