WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Liebenberg victorious at endurance series

South Africa's Bradley Liebenberg impressed on his international endurance race debut at the Dubai Autodrome.

Latvala wins Acropolis for VW

2013-06-03 07:23

ACRO-BATICS: Jari-Matti Latvala, driving, and Mikka Anttila lift off in a VW Polo R WRC on a special stage of the 2013 Acropolis Rally south-west of Athens. Image: AFP

Graham Wood

ATHENS, Greece - Finland's Jari-Matti Latvala won the Acropolis Rally on Sunday - his first victory in the World Rally championship since he joined VW at the end of tthe 2012 season.

Spain's Dani Sordo was second for Citroen, Belgian Thierry Neuville third for Ford.

Latvala's French team mate Sebastien Ogier, out of contention from the opening stage due to a fuel feed problem, remained championship leader after six rounds and collected three bonus points by winning the final 'power stage'.


Poland's former Formula 1 driver Robert Kubica was fastest in the WRC2 category, finishing 11th overall.

Latvala, a Finn who made his World championship debut in the event a decade earlier as an 18-year-old, said: "This is my No.1 with VW and it feels amazing. We managed to get a nice win here and it is great to see all the team smiling."

Latvala took control on Saturday after Friday's overnight leader Evgeny Novikov of Russia suffered a punctured rear tyre on his Ford Fiesta RS when he hit a rock early in SS4 and the Finn never looked like giving away his lead despite the tricky terrain.

In the overall standings, Ogier remains in top spot with a 52-point lead over Latvala, who leap-frogged Sebastien Loeb into second place.

Loeb, a nine-times World champion and 2012 Acropolis winner, opted to sit out this year's edition but is still only six points adrift of Latvala in third place.

Result from the 2013 Rally of Greece on Sunday
1 Jari-Matti Latvala (Finland) Volkswagen 3hr31min01.2
2 Daniel Sordo (Spain) Citroen +1:min50.0
3 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Ford 2min14.1
4 Andreas Mikkelsen (Norway) Volkswagen 3min55.1
5 Nasser Al-Attiyah (Qatar) Ford 4min2.6
6 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Ford 5min8.7
7 Mikko Hirvonen (Finland) Citroen 8min00.7
8 Martin Prokop (Czech Republic) Ford 8min01.2
9 Evgeny Novikov (Russia) Ford 8min11.8
10 Sebastien Ogier (France)

Drivers' and Constructors' points standings after the 2013 Rally of Greece

1 Sebastien Ogier (France) Volkswagen Motorsport - 126
2 Jari-Matti Latvala (Finland) Volkswagen Motorsport - 74
3 Sebastien Loeb (France) Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 68
4 Mikko Hirvonen (Finland) Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally - 63
5 Thierry Neuville (Belgium) Qatar World Rally Team - 50
6 Daniel Sordo (Spain) Abu Dhabi Citroen Total World Rally Team - 47
7 Mads Ostberg (Norway) Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team - 46
8 Evgeny Novikov (Russia) Qatar M-Sport World Rally Team - 31
9 Nasser Al-Attiyah (Qatar) Qatar World Rally Team - 30
10 Martin Prokop (Czech Republic) Jipocar Czech National Team - 25

1 Volkswagen Motorsport - 180
2 Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team - 164
3 Qatar M-Sport World Rally - 83
4 Qatar World Rally Team - 71
5 Abu Dhabi Citroen Total World Rally Team - 29
6 Jipocar Czech National Team - 27
7 Volkswagen Motorsport II - 26
8 Lotos WRC Team - 12
Read more on:    world rally championship

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.