V8 Masters head to Killarney

2012-06-04 08:55

The V8 Masters Series championship will resume battle at the Killarney Raceway Regional race meeting in Cape Town on Saturday.

At the previous round of the series in May a new leader of the competition emerged when Fabio Tafani took advantage of a rare non-finish in Race 2 by Marcel Angel to leap-frog over his rival to top the championship log by three points. You can be sure that last year’s champion Angel won't take this setback lightly and will be out to regain top spot at Killarney on June 9.


Both will, however, be watching their mirror for Craig Jarvis who is also performing consistently well and is only seven points behind Tafani. In fact, the top-five log positions are very close with perennial hard-charger Charles Arton and steadily improving Jonny Bernstein only a few points back and they will pounce on any slip-up at the head of the field.

Jurgen zu Bentheim’s car was scheduled for a routine full engine overhaul after the next meeting but a blown head gasket in practice has brought that work forward and his technical team will be pushed to have the car ready alongside the other 14 cars that have entered for the June 9 race.

Danie Prins will be missing from the grid but all the other regular drivers have entered.

Other news on the car front is that Craig Jarvis’s second car that was damaged in an April collision with Sarel van der Merwe is now almost rebuilt, as is Supervan’s car that is owned by Shane Harrison. Sarel will be racing again later in the season, along with newcomer to the series Eddie Keizan.

Qualifying on Saturday will start at 8.15am. Race 1 is scheduled for 10.25am and Race 2 for 2.25pm.

Championship points after three rounds:
Fabio Tafani - 122
Marcel Angel - 119
Craig Jarvis - 115
Jonny Bernstein - 98
Charles Arton - 96
Brian Evans - 68
Roberto Franco - 62
Oliver Dalais - 58
Demitri Christodoulou - 46
Gary Owens - 45
Tim Reddell - 44
Fanie Theron - 38
Sean Mackay - 36
Fred Phillips - 29
Danie Prins - 26
Mark de Nobrega - 24
Gerhard Cloete - 15
Jurgen zu Bentheim - 11
Sarel van der Merwe - 0