WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Liebenberg victorious at endurance series

South Africa's Bradley Liebenberg impressed on his international endurance race debut at the Dubai Autodrome.

Supa Kart wrap: Round three

2013-07-15 11:02

SITTING TIGHT: Jarrod Odendaal won the Mini Rok class during the third round of the Supa Karts championship at the Itube circuit near Pietermaritzburg. Image: Steve Wicks

PIETERMARITZBURG, KwaZulu-Natal - Round three of the Supa Kart championships at the Idube circuit near Pietermaritzburg on Saturday, July 13, still has crowds talking post-race.

The Super Rok class is going to be interesting at the next round after current Rok Cup World champion Nathan Parkins scored two wins and a second place to take the overall honours and move to the top of the points log.

He didn’t have it as easy as the result suggests. In the first race he was beaten by local ace Mitchel Licen who was driving a loaned TonyKart and having his first event in a year.


Parkins, driving a Zanardi, was runner-up in the opening heat,but won the next two to end the day six points clear of Licen. Another local ace, Benjamin Habig (TonyKart), scored his best result yet when a level-headed performance netted him bronze.

Reigning champion Simon Moss (TonyKart) was in contention for the win until he was eliminated in a first lap accident in the final race. Moss clung onto fourth overall to tie with Chassen Bright (Zanardi).

Ayrton Good fought hard and would have finished higher than sixth had he not been involved in the final heat skirmish ending up in ninth place.

Despite Keagan Masters making the Junior Rok event his own, each race was a thriller as the result was in doubt until the chequered flag. It was local driver Clinton Bezuidenhout who was runner up in each race and Zanardi team mate Trent Varejes completed the podium after a day of fourth places.

Kohen Bam (Zanardi) was an impressive fourth overall after taking third place in Race 2. Just one point away was Kashen Naicker(Birel).


Defending champion, Birel’s Bradley Liebenberg was in the thick of the action but lost out each time and a second race retirement saw him hang on in sixth place thanks to two third place finishes.

At the end of the Mini-Rok event, it was TonyKart’s Jarrod Odendaal who came out on top thanks to a trio of hard fought wins.

Bloemfontein’s Stuart White (Zanardi) put him under pressure but did not have the power up the hills and had to settle for second place. His task was made slightly easier when Delon Thompson spun at the top of the hill in the final but he still hung on to take third for the day.
Joshua Dias (Zanardi) was two points off in fourth place with his best result being third in the final race. Team mate Blaine Rademeyer was next and only three points behind. Daniele Patrizi, Driving another Zanardi  and one of the youngest drivers in the class, surprised everyone but himself by completing the top six.

The invitation Cadet class was closely fought and Tate Bishop took the win ahead of Joseph Oelz and Liyen Mudaly.

Vereeniging will host the final round of the Engen Supa Kart championship in August.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.