New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Riders ready to battle at Enduro

2013-09-09 13:20

FIGHTING FOR VICTORY: James Hodson has moved into the overall top 10 and will hope to better his current position at the upcoming final round of the 2013 SA National Enduro Motorcycle Championship. Image: Supplied

A new winner might emerge as some serious battles are set for the upcoming penultimate round of the 2013 SA National Enduro Motorcycle championship.

PATENSIE, South Africa - The first four races of the 2013 National Enduro championship have produced three different winners of which two have won the Castrol Winterberg Enduro in the past.

They are however not the only ones with their eyes on the victory as a few others would also like to make history at this event, its 38th. The event has moved to the Patensie area in the Eastern Cape and will be hosted by the Rover Motorcycle Club on Saturday, Sept 14.

The event will be the fifth and penultimate round of the 2013 championship.


The current overall leader and the E2 (200cc) Championship, Wade Young (Husaberg) won this event in 2012 and has already been victorious twice this season. He will aim for another win as will both Altus de Wet (Husqvarna Racing) and Marc Torlage (Yamaha) who would like to add another victory to their list for 2013.

Young is 13 points ahead of Torlage on the overall standings and leads him by 12 points in E2. This gap is however not big enough for the 17 year-old to relax in the Eastern Cape. Torlage’s team mate, Kenny Gilbert, has moved into the third place on the overall standings and is second in the E1 (Open Class) Championship. De Wet is only two points behind Gilbert on the overall standings and is seven points ahead of Scott Bouverie (KTM) who is third in E2.

Only 11 points separate Brett Swanepoel (KTM) in eighth place from James Hodson (Yamaha) in 10th with Port Elizabeth youngster, Tim Young (Yamaha) sandwiched between them. De Wet (third in E1) and Young (fourth in E1) are being separated by 14 points in E1.

Blake Gutzeit has had a seesaw season and bagged the same amount of points than Bronson Louw (Yamaha). Louw is sixth in E2 with Gutzeit ninth and both are just outside the top 10.


The battle in the Senior Class Championship will also continue at the Enduro and although the defending champion, William Gillitt (Yamaha) has already won three times this season and leads the standings; he will have to look over his shoulder as the chasing pack is not too far behind. Bruce May (Yamaha) was the only other winner this season and trails Gillitt by a mere eight points while Jody Engelbrecht (Husaberg) is third and again only nine points behind May. Matthew Barker (Yamaha) is somewhat further behind in fourth place, but will hope to finish on the podium again like he did at the Pilgrims Rest event.

It looks like the multiple Master Class champion, Denzil Torlage (Yamaha) is on his way to yet another title even though he has been beaten twice during the 2013 season. While he would like to take revenge on the winner of the Pilgrims Rest event, Garth Prost (KTM), Torlage will have to make sure he finishes and score points as he is only 26 points ahead of the consistent Carl Rohrbeck (KTM) in second place. A good result can see Greg Blackwell move onto the podium.

The two front runners of the Silver Class Challenge, Damien Scott (Yamaha) and Sage McGregor (KTM) are both still scholars. Scott has won the first three races and McGregor will hope to claim his first victory this season. The consistent female rider, Toni Jardine (KTM) is currently third (seven points behind McGregor) and will be back from competing in France to try and better her position.

The Enduro will start and finish on September 14 at the Patensie Sports Club that will also serve as the only service point during the race.

The racing action starts at 8am and spectators are invited to get close to the action at a variety of vantage points.
Read more on:    yamaha  |  ktm  |  honda  |  motorsport  |  bikers

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.