Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

New King of the Hill crowned at Simola

2014-05-19 12:50


THE KING IS CROWNED: A remarkable double was achieved by Franco Scribante (inset) who emerged from a tough weekend's driving as 2014 Simola King of the Hill with his Chevron B19. Image: Motorpress / Morne Condon

KNYSNA, Western Cape - One hill, two days, 83 very fast cars, 802 runs up the Simola Hill... and one new King of the Hill was crowned in Knysna on Sunday afternoon.

Franco Scribante claimed his title on May 18 2014 after finishing at the top of the standings in Classic Friday in which he campaigned his Chevron B19 to be crowned Classic Conqueror.

Scribante posted a record time of 41.811sec on Friday and then raised the stakes to finish in 41.159sec on Sunday – not only setting a record but also making history as the only competitor to win both the Classic Conqueror and King of the Hill titles.


Saturday morning a wet and slippery track greeted competitors in the fifth hill-climb event at Knysna. Overnight rain made conditions highly unpredictable and racers started their weekend cautiously.

Sunday dawned with not a cloud in the sky, temperatures steadily increasing and the adrenalin-fuelled antics kept the thousands of motorsport fans entertained. It was, however, not until the sun sat low in the sky, the shadows grew long and temperatures began to drop that the serious business of the weekend started.

After two qualifying sessions on Saturday and five on Sunday excitement reached fever pitch with just 10 racers making the cut – one car, one driver, one run and one chance to take the title of King of the Hill.

Scribante blazed up the hill in 41.15sec to finish ahead of Desmond Gutzeit in a Nissan Skyline GT-R and Darron Gudmanz and his Nissan Skyline GT-R. The margin of victory for Scribante was a very slim 0.546sec with Gutzeit ahead of Gudmanz by only 0.195sec.

With an entry list that comprised Ferrari, Lamborghini, Porsche, Jaguar, BMW, Nissan, Ariel and Subaru, with a selection of hot hatches thrown in for good measure, the Jaguar Simola Hillclimb provided something for every automotive taste.

Winners by class at the 2014 Jaguar Simola Hillclimb
1 Stuart Grant – Jaguar XF
2 Jesse Adams – Jaguar XF
3 Angus Thompson – Jaguar XF
1 Owen Naudé – Subaru Impreza WRX STI
2 Anton Slabbert – Nissan 200SX
3 Owen Bridger – Honda Civic Type-R
1 Edrich Zwiers – BMW 1M
2 Fracois Cowley – BMW 325
1 Henru Pienaar – Nissan GTR
2 Qinsley Sale – Nissan Skyline R34 GT-R
3 Gordon Nicholson – Nissan GTR
1 Pieter Zeelie – Lotus Exige
2 Arnold Klimke – Lotus 7 Replica
3 Anthony Ashley – Lotus 7
1 Ryan Buda – Porsche GT3
2 Johann Zulch – BMW 325iM
1 Greg Parton – Lamborghini Aventador
2 Mark Castel – Ferrari California
3 Tanya Watts – Audi RS4
1 Ernst du Preez – McLaren Spider MP4-12c
2 Dawie Olivier – Jaguar F-Type V6
3 Jacques Wheeler – McLaren Spider MP4-12c
1 Anton Cronjé – Subaru WRX
2 Malcolm Royston – Subaru Impreza STI
3 Ralph Kernes – Mitsubishi Evo IV
1 Darron Gudmanz – Nissan GTR
2 Jaki Scheckter – Nissan GTR R35
3 Desmond Gutzeit – Nissan Skyline GTR
1 Rory Beattie – Jaguar XJ
1 Tony Lederie – Caterham 7
2 John du Toit – VW Golf I
3 Julian van Rensburg – VW Golf I
1 Graeme Nathan – BMW CSI
2 Allen Irwin – BMW 325IS Evo 2
3 Herman Burger – Nissan Skyline GTX
1 Charles Arton – Owen Ashley V8 Masters Car
2 Ian Scheckter – Owen Ashley V8 Masters Car
1 Michael Beachy Head – Porsche 917 Replica
1 Franco Scribante – Chevron B19
2 Scois Joubert – Ariel Atom
3 Ben Pienaar – Formula Vee Rheema 2
1 Franci Cusens – Juno SS3
1 Michiel Simons – Ford GT40
Read more on:    jaguar  |  knysna  |  western cape

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.