New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

National Enduro crowns champ

2013-05-13 14:27

GETTING DOWN AND DIRTY: Altus de Wet became the third winner of the 2013 National Enduro Motorcycle championship after winning at the Kei National Enduro. Image: Elza Thiart-Botes

Altus de Wet (Husqvarna) became the third winner in the 2013 National Enduro Motorcycle championship, on a wet, slippery and cold day at the Kei National Enduro.

De Wet (28) won all three of the longer stages of which only a handful of points (seconds) separated competitors. It was Wet’s second consecutive E1 (Open Class) victory and a first overall win for Husqvarna in South Africa. He beat Kenny Gilbert (Yamaha) who claimed the second place. The overall podium was rounded off by Wade Young (Husaberg) who won E2 (200cc Class) and two of the short 2.5km motocross-type stages.


Penalty points pushed Marc Torlage (Yamaha) to ninth overall (fourth in E2). Yamaha team mates Timmy Young and Michael Pentecost also received penalties and were placed 16th and 20th on the overall standings. Young was ninth in E1, Pentecost eighth in E2.

KTM’s Scott Bouverie was second in E2 and fourth overall, 65 points ahead of Louwrens Mahoney who rounded off the E1 podium.

Nicholas Pienaar’s (KTM) torn ligaments in a thumb hindered his performance but he was sixth (fourth in E1), ahead of James Hodson (Yamaha) who posted his best result so far this season and rounded off the E2 podium.

Privateer Dwayne Kleynhans (KTM) finished eighth (fifth in E1); Torlage had to settle for ninth with youngster Brett Swanepoel (KTM) claiming his third top 10 result this season with 10th overall (fifth in E2).

Hodson’s team mate Nick Wade finished 11th beating Scott Scheepers by four points. Michael Creevy (Husqvarna) finished 13th; Kyle Erasmus (Yamaha) was 14th and Brandon Warwick-Oliver (Yamaha) rounded off the top 15. The rest of the top 20 was made up by Wesley Redinger (Husaberg) who had to battle in the back of the field to finish 18th and Dylan Donald who was 19th.

Riaan van Niekerk (KTM) returned for the first time this season to the Enduro championship but lost time due to a problematic throttle and had to settle for 17th while Mark Garland (Yamaha) managed 23rd, but lost time when he drowned his bike. Blake Gutzeit (Sherco) injured his knee and had to call it a day.

The same three competitors finished on the podium for the third consecutive race with defending champion, William Gillit (Yamaha) claiming his second victory of the season. He had to fight off a determined Bruce May (Yamaha) who was faster after three of the five special timed stages (they posted the same time for one of the stages), but two crashes cost May some valuable time.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.