Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Lorenzo closes gap on Rossi with Aragon win

2015-09-27 17:32

CLOSING THE GAP: Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo celebrates after winning the 2015 Aragon Grand Prix in Spain. Image: AFP / Jaime Reina

Alcaiz, Spain - Spain's Jorge Lorenzo won his third race on home soil this season at the Aragon Grand Prix to cut the gap on Yahama team mate Valentino Rossi in the fight for the world championship to just 14 points.

Rossi finished third as he failed to get passed Honda's Dani Pedrosa despite a series of attempts.

However, defending world champion Marc Marquez's hopes of a third consecutive title are all but over as he crashed out on the second lap.

Blistering record

For Marquez to clinch the title he would have to win each of the last four races, and Rossi no points at all.

Marquez started on pole at his self-confessed favourite race afer setting a blistering new track record in qualifying.

However, he had already been overtaken by Lorenzo by the time he pushed too hard on the second lap and was unable to get his bike going again after running into the gravel.

Lorenzo was then allowed to ride easily to his sixth win of the season with the real action taking place behind him as Pedrosa bravely held off Rossi.

The Italian passed Pedrosa on five occasions, but each time the Spaniard was able to respond immediately to prevent Rossi picking up an vital extra four points in the title race.

Aragon Grand Prix results

1. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Yahama) 41min44.933 
2. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) at 2.683 
3. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 2.773 
4. Andrea Iannone (ITA/Ducati) 7.858 
5. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 24.322 
6. Aleix Espargaro (ESP/Suzuki) 24.829 
7. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/Honda LCR) 25.367 
8. Bradley Smith (GBR/Yamaha Tech3) 25.503 
9. Pol Espargaro (ESP/Yamaha Tech3) 26.452 
10. Yonny Hernandez (COL/Ducati) 43.889

Overall standings (after 14 of 18 races)

1. Valentino Rossi (ITA/Yamaha) 263
2. Jorge Lorenzo (ESP/Yamaha) 249
3. Marc Marquez (ESP/Honda) 184 
4. Andrea Iannone (ITA/Ducati) 172 
5. Bradley Smith (GBR/Yamaha Tech3) 143
6. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA/Ducati) 139
7. Dani Pedrosa (ESP/Honda) 129
8. Danilo Petrucci (ITA/Ducati Pramac) 93
9. Cal Crutchlow (GBR/Honda LCR) 88
10. Pol Espargaro (ESP/Yamaha Tech3) 88

Read more on:    jorge lorenzo  |  spain

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.