Kruger tops Formula VW

2012-05-28 15:23

Single-seater racing action at the Zwartkops Raceway on May 26 saw drivers pushing hard for track position and points during the Formula VW action. Defending champion Jayde Kruger set a lap record for the series.

Kruger went fastest in Race 1 of the event, breaking the record set by Gavin Cronje in 2008. He was chasing race leader Simon Moss and set a time of 59.463.

Kruger claimed the championship lead at Aldo Scribante (Round 3) and has extended the point gap in Zwartkops. A second in Race 1 and victory in Race 2 made sure that rivals will be hard-pressed to catch up.


Race 1 saw Moss (third overall in the championship) win with Robert Wolk third (second overall in the championship) while the defending champion was sandwiched between them . In Rac 2 Kruger was victorious as a track incident between Moss and Wolk removed them from the podium.

The opening allowed Tasmin Pepper and Nicholas van Weely to fight over the two remaining podium positions. The pair stepped up to the challenge and claimed second and third overall.

Wolk managed to fight his way back after the incident with Moss in Race 2 and finished seventh to end the day fourth overall. Wolk started the season strongly at Zwartkops, Round 1 of the WesBank Super Series, but has been struggling to produce similar results.

To stay in the fight, Moss is also going to have to concentrate on points if he wishes to finish strongly in 2012.

Michael Taylor joined the Formula VW field for Round 4 – the first time he has competed in the single-seater series since his debut in 2011. While Taylor has only raced in the series once, he performed well at Zwartkops and claimed fifth overall due to his sixth and fifth place finish in two races.

Another racer to join the Formula VW fray was Matthew Merton, defending champion in the Midas Formula 1600 series, who grabbed the chance to compete in both single-seater events as the fields were split for the Zwartkops race meeting. Merton had no practice time with his car, a vastly different model to his usual F1600, but he finished a creditable 10th overall at the event.

The next event fwill be the Durban street-race, part of the Top Gear Festival in June 2012.

This circuit is part of the layout originally used for the now defunct A1 GP.


1    Simon Moss
2    Jayde Kruger
3    Robert Wolk

1    Jayde Kruger
2    Tasmin Pepper
3    Nicholas van Weely

1    Jayde Kruger
2    Tasmin Pepper
3    Nicholas van Weely