IndyCar becomes more feminine

2013-05-20 08:43

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana - Katherine Legge, Pippa Mann and Brazilian Ana Beatriz joined the Indianapolis 500 starting grid on Sunday May 19, 2013, to match a race record of four women starters in this year's field. They will however start at the back of the field.

The trio joined Swiss racer Simona de Silvestro, who qualified on Saturday, to match the mark from 2010 and 2011 for female drivers in Indy's 33-car field. They were among nine qualifiers on Sunday's final day of timed trials.


The 97th Indy 500 will be staged next Sunday  (May 26) at the famed 4km Indianapolis Motor Speedway oval.

Legge had the slowest qualifying speed after a four-lap qualifying average of 359km/h. She only signed a deal on Saturday for an Indy start for the second year in a row.

Mexico's Michel Jourdain, the only driver who failed to make the field, never approached practice speeds fast enough to threaten Legge's mark.

American Ed Carpenter won pole so will lead 24 drivers in the first eight rows on the grid.

The final nine spots over the three back rows were filled soon after the speedway opened on Sunday, led by American Josef Newgarden, who booked the inside of the ninth row with an average speed of 363km/h. American Graham Rahal and Colombia's Sebastian Saavedra completed row nine with Frenchman Tristan Vautier on the inside of row 10 alongside Beatriz with Mann on the outside.

American Conor Daly and countryman Buddy Lazier, the 1996 Indy 500 winner, were on the last row with Legge claiming the outside spot.