New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Giniel on Morocco podium

2005-05-30 13:11

However, the result was a big blow to the ambitions of 2005 Dakar winner Stéphane Peterhansel who lost a potential victory when his Mitsubishi Pajero succumbed to a broken steering box within sight of the finish yesterday (Sunday).

Third place overall went to another Volkswagen driver, Juta Kleinschmidt of Germany.

The first Mitsubishi driver home was Joan Roma who set his second consecutive fastest stage time through the final 218 km special and clinched fourth place in the overall standings.

The final 218 km special stage was a loop to the south of Agadir and started over a selection of sandy tracks. The terrain became more varied, as the course headed through foothills to the deserted village of Sous Ait Ahmed and on through a series of villages to the finish adjacent to the Atlantic Ocean.

Peterhansel had begun the final 218 km loop stage around Agadir with a 9m 35s advantage over Frenchman Bruno Saby and co-driver Michel Périn.

Starting fifth on the road this morning behind his team mates Roma and Magne and a trio of factory Volkswagen cars, the Frenchman was ahead of the field through the first passage control, but damaged the steering box in his Mitsubishi Pajero Evolution in a rocky section of the stage before the second passage control and was forced out of the event.

The fourth round of the FIA Cross-Country Rally World Cup will take place in Turkey and northern Iran in August.


1. Bruno Saby (F)/Michel Périn (F) Volkswagen Touareg 15h 24m 56s
2. Giniel de Villiers (ZA)/Tina Thörner (S) Volkswagen Touareg 15h 30m 18s
3. Jutta Kleinschmidt (D)/Fabrizia Pons (I) Volkswagen Touareg 15h 38m 53s
4. Joan Roma (E)/Henri Magne (AND) Mitsubishi Pajero Evolution 15h 41m 57s
5. Jean-Louis Schlesser (F)/Arnaud Debron (F) Schlesser-Ford Buggy 15h 42m 13s

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.