New Sasol GTC cars set for thrills

The iconic Grand Prix Circuit will present a new challenge to the GTC drivers as they tackle the country’s fastest racetrack on June 16.

WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Seat's local Leon Cupra racer

2007-11-15 06:54
Seat will officially launch their South African Motorsport team at the final Bridgestone Production Car event to be held at the Kyalami Grand Prix Circuit on 24 November 2007.

Spanish in origin, Seat was acquired by the Volkswagen Group in 1986 when the Group obtained a majority share in the Company.

The Seat brand was launched into the South African market in June 2006. The Seat brand essence is sporty performance and stylish design. Currently three Seat brands are available in South Africa - the agile Seat Ibiza, dynamic Leon and versatile Altea.

Seat has a strong Motorsport heritage with extensive exposure in the tough arena of the World Rally Championship and more recently, the World Touring Car Circuit Racing in Europe.

Seat's Motorsport participation began as far back as the early seventies and circuit racing soon led to international rallying with much success. Motorsport became such an integral part of Seat, that a Motorsport division called Seat Sport was launched in 1985.

By 2000, Seat Sport was using the knowledge gained through Motorsport in the research and development of the brand's high performance vehicles, including the Leon Cupra model. With enthusiasm for Motorsport rampant, Seat launched the Leon Supercopa.

This series, based on Touring Cars, acted as a stepping stone for young upcoming drivers to reach both British Touring Cars and the World Touring Car Championship level. This Motorsport strategy has worked exceptionally well and Seat has recently been crowned 2007 British Touring Car Champions.

Seat South Africa will race two Leon Cupra's in Class T of the South African Bridgestone Production Car Championship.

The vehicles will be driven by 2002 Production Car Champion Phillip Kekana and 2001 Volkswagen Cup Champion Graeme Nathan. Between them, Phillip and Graeme have over 15 years of racing experience and are sure to do justice to the Seat brand.


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.