Meet VW's SA-bound baby SUV, the T-Cross

A disguised prototype of the T-Cross, VW's new baby crossover SUV, is being tested on public roads.

WATCH: Bentley's new 467kW Continental GT

The new third-gen Bentley Continental GT boasts 467kW, 900Nm and a top speed of 333km/h.

Fowler triumphs in WCape kart championship

2014-07-21 15:37

IN THE LEAD: Delano Fowler (411) has moved into the Junior Max title lead during Round 5 of the WP Regional Karting Championship. Image: Heinrich Sauer

The fifth round of the 2014 Western Cape Karting Championships found a hole in the foul weather to deliver brilliant racing at Killarney on Saturday (July 19), with upsets and action the order of the day.
Sparks flew as expected in the high school Junior Max 125s where Delano Fowler (TonyKart) delivered a superb trio of races to win each time as he fended off Kohen Bam and his similarly-mounted brother Henry to move into a tight championship lead.

Fowler, who was recently handed back points lost in a controversial third round exclusion following an MSA Court of Appeal, made no mistake despite Kohen Bam’s constant attention.

Chadley Swartz delivered a consistent performance to take fourth ahead of Dino Stermin (Zanardi), while Dario Busi (TonyKart), Giordano Lupini (Zanardi), Isabella Fowler (TonyKart) and Sebastian Boyd delivered an entertaining midfield battle. That leaves Delano Fowler and the Bams in a tight title tussle and the rest fighting hard over fourth.
Jurie Swart (Birel) and Julian van der Watt (Zanardi) upset the open Max Challenge 125cc championship formbook when they beat the thus far dominant championship leader Luke Herring (RKT) to third overall, with each of those three drivers taking a heat win. Kohen Bam (Zanardi), Eugene Deneyssen and Joshua Dolinschek (TonyKart) completed the top six.
JP Hamman (RKT) drove brilliantly to beat his Maxterino 60cc primary school title rival Aidan Strydom (TonyKart) two races to one and open his championship advantage over Strydom. Charl Visser (Zanardi) was third ahead of former Cadet rivals Joseph Oelz (Zanardi) and Tate Bishop (Zanardi) with impressive newcomer Andrew Rackstraw, Tyler Croy and Storm Lanfear next up.
DD2 Gearbox Championship leader Jonathan Thomas (Zanardi) took overall honours on the day despite twice being beaten by the visiting Arnold Neveling (RKT) after Neveling had trouble in the first race. Zanardi lads Stephen Wells (Zanardi) and Luke Van Rensburg (Zanardi) were next up, while Johan Hamman (Birel) was made to work for his Masters class win by Jacques De Bruyn, with Vic Hodoul third.
Troy Dolinschek (Top Kart) maintained his unbeaten record in the baby under-8 Cadets this year, moving his win tally up to fifteen wins on the trot, beating Jason MacBeath, Paul Malcolm and Kyle Visser, with Valentino Hoffman, Joaquin De Oliveira, Mischa Williams and Malan Louw next up.
The weekend was rounded off by the ever-enthusiastic Cape Clubmen with Dale Fourie beating Class B winner Dylan Mitchell and brothers James and Paul Fraser overall and Class C winner Mike Cook.
The sixth round of the WP goes down August 23.

Read more on:    killarney  |  cape town  |  karting  |  motorsport  |  racing

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.