Desert victory for Taylor, Murphy

2013-06-24 09:44

GABORONE, Botswana  – Toyota pair Anthony Taylor and Dennis Murphy scored their second win in a row in the Production Vehicle category at the Kalahari Botswana 1000 Desert Race, round four of the Donaldson Cross Country Championship.

Taylor/Murphy are tied at the top of the championship with former champions Chris Visser and Japie Badenhorst (Ford Ranger), who finished in third. The win is Toyota’s second successive Desert Race victory.

Hugo de Bruyn and Henri Hugo suffered a punctune and finished in second place.


Provisional scoring sees Taylor/Murphy and Visser/Badenhorst at the top of the Production Vehicle and premier SP Class championships with 85.5 points.

Taylor said: “I came close to winning last year so this is a bonus. We obviously had a good weekend but the rest of the season is going to be interesting.”

Visser/Badenhorst had 1min25 lead over fourth placed Duncan Vos and Rob Howie (Toyota Hilux). Vos/Howie are the reigning South African champions and won the 2012 desert race ahead of Taylor and Chris Birkin.

Christiaan du Plooy and veteran former SA champion Hennie ter Stege (BMW X3) finished in fifth. Ter Stege, who came out of retirement for the event, replaced du Plooy’s regular co-driver, Henk Janse van Vuuren.

Thomas Rundle and Juan Mohr (Nissan Navara) suffered transmission issues and eventually finished sixth. The pair won the Dakar Challenge and a free entry for the 2014 Dakar Rally in South America.

Johan van Staden/Mike Lawrenson (Toyota Hilux) and Hennie de Klerk/Keith Solomon (BMW X3) finished in seventh and eighth respectively.

Terence Marsh/Gerhard Schutte (Nissan Navara) finished in ninth while a terrific performance saw the brother and sister combination of Jacques and Lizelle van Tonder (Ranger) completed the top ten.


Jason Venter and Vincent van Allemann (Toyota Hilux) finished at the top of the Class D championship with their third win of the 2013 season.

Reigning champions Dirk Putter and Koos Claasens were the lone finishers in Class E. The pair were the last of the classified finishers but 12th overall in the Production Vehicle class.
See what happened in the Special Vehicle category here