VW continues to invest in the future of motorsport in SA

Volkswagen has established a specialised Motorsport Academy to invest in the future of motorsport locally.

Local racing is 'lekker' but why the disinterest?

'The lack of interest in local motorsport has seen the sport dwindle down from what it once was', writes Charlen Raymond.

Sainz wins stage, reduces Peterhansel's lead in Dakar Rally

2018-01-12 08:06

SAINZ GRABS FIRST STAGE WIN: Peugeot's Spanish driver Carlos Sainz and co-driver Lucas Cruz ride through the dunes of during the Dakar Rally, the Spaniard won Stage 6. Image: AFP / Franck Fife

La Paz, Bolivia- Spaniard Carlos Sainz won the sixth stage of the Dakar Rally on Thursday, putting a small dent in the overall lead of his Peugeot teammate Stephane Peterhansel of France.

Sainz finished the 313km stage between Arequipa, Peru, and the Bolivian capital of La Paz in 2 hours, 57 minutes, 36 seconds - finishing 4 minutes, 6 seconds ahead of second-place Peterhansel.

The overall lead of defending champion Peterhansel is now 27:10, with Sainz in second place and Dutch driver Bernhard ten Brinke in third, 1.20:41 off the pace, at the wheel of his Toyota.

In the motorbike race, Honda rider Kevin Benavides of Argentina has the overall lead after finishing second, 30 seconds behind stage winner Frenchman Antoine Meo, riding a KTM.

Benavides is now 1:57 ahead of fifth-stage leader Adrien van Beveren. The French Yamaha rider lost time with a fifth-place finish in La Paz.

The Dakar Rally will have a rest day on Friday, before resuming with stage 7 on Saturday from La Paz to Uyuni, Bolivia.

Dakar results on Thursday in the sixth stage from Arequipa in Peru to La Paz in Bolivia:



1. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Peugeot) 2hr 53min 30sec
2. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) at 4:06
3. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) 5:05
4. Giniel De Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 5:31
5. Cyril Despres/David Castera (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 8:49
6. Mikko Hirvonen/Andreas Schulz (FIN/GER/Mini) 8:56
7. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Michel Prin (NED/FRA/Toyota) 9:31
8. Lucio Alvarez/Robert Howie (ARG/RSA/Toyota) 12:26
9. Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek (CZE/CZE/Ford) 12:31
10. Jakub Przygonski/Tom Colsoul (POL/BEL/Mini) 12:39

Overall standings

1. Stephane Peterhansel/Jean Paul Cottret (FRA/FRA/Peugeot) 16hr 25min 02sec.
2. Carlos Sainz/Lucas Cruz (ESP/ESP/Peugeot) at 27:10
3. Bernhard Ten Brinke/Michel Prin (NED/FRA/Toyota) 1 h 20:41
4. Nasser Al-Attiyah/Matthieu Baumel (QAT/FRA/Toyota) 1 h 24:20
5. Giniel De Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 1 h 35:59
6. Jakub Przygonski/Tom Colsoul (POL/BEL/Mini) 2 h 25:16
7. Martin Prokop/Jan Tomanek (CZE/CZE/Ford) 2 h 25:52

8. Eugenio Amos/Sebastien Delaunay (ITA/FRA/2wd) 2 h 30:58
9. Patrick Sireyjol/Franois-Xavier Beguin (FRA/BEL/Buggy) 3 h 25:35
10. Peter Van Merksteijn/Maciej Marton (NED/POL/Toyota) 3 h 53:24



1. Antoine Meo (FRA/Ktm) 1hr 54min 10sec
2. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) at 30sec
3. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) same time
4. Diego Martin Duplessis (ARG/Honda) 1:13
5. Daniel Oliveras Carreras (ESP/Ktm) 1:55
6. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 2:00
7. Daniel Nosiglia Jager (BOL/Ktm) 2:13
8. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 3:06
9. Xavier De Soultrait (FRA/Yamaha) 3:12
10. Adrien Van Beveren (FRA/Yamaha) 3:27

Overall standings

1. Kevin Benavides (ARG/Honda) 16hr 33min 20sec
2. Adrien Van Beveren (FRA/Yamaha) at 1:57

3. Matthias Walkner (AUT/Ktm) 2:50

4. Xavier De Soultrait (FRA/Yamaha) 9:24

5. Joan Barreda Bort (ESP/Honda) 9:33

6. Toby Price (AUS/Ktm) 9:39

7. Antoine Meo (FRA/Ktm) 10:42

8. Pablo Quintanilla (CHI/Husqvarna) 16:42

9. Gerard Farres Guell (ESP/Ktm) 18:08

10. Stefan Svitko (SVK/Ktm) 29:11


There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.