WATCH: 2018 Dakar Rally - The game!

Dakar '18 will enable players to take on the world's most gruelling race in one of the biggest open worlds yet in a racing game.

Liebenberg victorious at endurance series

South Africa's Bradley Liebenberg impressed on his international endurance race debut at the Dubai Autodrome.

Bad day for champ and Giniel

2012-01-05 21:59

BUSHCRAFT: France's Cyril Despres checks the vegetation from his KTM during Stage 5 of the 2012 Dakar Rally between Chilecito and Fiambala, Argentina.Image: AFP

Fiambala, Argentina - Qatar's defending Dakar Rally champion Nasser al-Attiyah suffered another disastrous drive on Thursday's Stage 5 of the 2012 rally, losing more than 20 minutes when his Hummer overheated.

Poland's Krzysztof Holowczyc, in a Mini, won the 184km stage between Chilecito and Fiambala ahead of American Remy Gordon, with Stephane Peterhansel coming in third to maintain his lead at the top of the overall standings.


Holowczyc finished the 153km special in 2hr10min51sec, 1min01 in front of Gordon, with Peterhansel, a six-times Dakar motorcycling champion and three-times car winner, 3min52 back from the leader.

The Pole now stands second behind Peterhansel in the overall standings (+4min18) but al-Attiyah's radiator woes left him in eighth place, a huge 50min47 off the pace.

South Africa’s best hope for a win, Giniel de Villiers and Dirk Von Zitzewitz in their Toyota Hilux, finished the ninth after sterling runs over the first few days.. They came home 19min12 behind Holowczyc.

ARGENTINIAN WAVE: US driver Robby Gordon steers his Hummer into a sandy donga as onlookers take pictures during Stage 5 of the 2012 Dakar between Chilecito and Fiambala, Argentina.Image: AFP.

That dropped the pair from second overall at the end of Stage 4 on Wednesday to fifth overall but still well in the running with a deficit of 21min01.


French KTM rider Cyril Despres clocked 2hr28min33 to win the motorcycle section ahead of Spanish rival Marc Coma to consolidate his overall lead in the gruelling race at 9min51 over the Spaniard.

Friday's Stage 6 of the rally has been cancellled because of snow and rain over the San Francisco Pass and the border between Chile and Argentina at 4700m. The vehicles will all go through, but in convoy rather than competition.

Dakar Rally results after Thursday's Stage 5, a total of 423km that included the 153km special, from Chilecito to Fiambala


1 Krzysztof Holowczyc/Jean-Marc Fortin (POL/BEL/Mini) 2hr10min51
2 Remy Gordon/Johnny Campbell (USA/Hummer) 1min01
3 Stephane Peterhansel/Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA/Mini) 3min52
4 Nani Roma/Michel Perin (ESP/FRA/Mini) 7min47
5 Leonid Novitskiy/Andreas Schulz (RUS/Mini) 8min18
6 Ricardo Leal Dos Santos/Paulo Fiuza (POR/Mini) 9min19
7 Carlos Sousa/Jean-Pierre Garcin (POR/FRA/Great Wall) 14min02
8 Erik Van Loon/Harmen Scholtalbers (NED/Mitsubishi) 15min38
9 Giniel de Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 19min12
10Gert Huzink/Eugenie Decre (NED/Mitsubishi) 22min06

1 Stephane Peterhansel/Jean-Paul Cottret (FRA/Mini) 11hr58min03
2 Krzysztof Holowczyc/Jean-Marc Fortin (POL/BEL/Mini) 4min18
3 Nani Roma/Michel Perin (ESP/FRA/Mini) 10min39
4 Robby Gordon/Johnny Campbell (USA/Hummer) 13min32
5 Giniel de Villiers/Dirk Von Zitzewitz (RSA/GER/Toyota) 21min01
6 Leonid Novitzkiy/Andreas Schulz (RUS/GER/Mini) 30min51
7 Carlos Sousa/Jean-Pierre Garcin (POR/FRA/Great Wall) 40min55
8 Nasser al-Attiyah/Lucas Cruz (QAT/ESP/Hummer) 50min47
9 Erik Van Loon/Harmen Scholtalbers (NED/Mitsubishi) 53min33
10 Lucio Alvarez/Ronnie Graue (ARG/Toyota) 59min10


1 Cyril Despres (FRA/KTM) 2hr28min33
2 Marc Coma (ESP/KTM) 1min41
3 Juan Barreda Bort (ESP/Husqvarna) 12min42
4 Stefan Svitko (SVK/KTM) 13min55
5 Jordi Viladoms (ESP/KTM) 14min17
6 Pal Ullevalseter (NOR/KTM) 14min41
7 Gerard Farres Guell (ESP/KTM) 18min49
8 Francisco Lopez Contardo (CHI/Aprilia) 19.10
9 Paulo Goncalves (POR/Husqvarna) 19min31
10 Olivier Pain (FRA/Yamaha) 19min54

1 Cyril Despres (FRA/KTM) 14hr19min00
2 Marc Coma (ESP/KTM) 9min51
3 Helder Rodrigues (POR/Yamaha) 47min56
4 Francisco Lopez Contardo (CHI/Aprilia) 49min00
5 Paulo Goncalvez (POR/Husqvarna) 54min47
6 Jordi Viladoms (ESP/KTM) 58min17
7 David Casteu (FRA/Yamaha) 58min58
8. Juan Pedrero Garcia (ESP/KTM) 59min04
9 Gerard Farres Guell (ESP/KTM) 01hr03min13
10 Stefan Svitko (SVK/KTM) 01hr07min26

Bookmark Wheels24’s Dakar Rally section.

2012 Dakar image gallery.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.